Cranberry Almond Power Bars

I love having grab & go foods in my fridge! It minimizes lunch prep time in the evenings and provides convenient work snacks when I’m busy or in the car. Bars and muffins are perfect pre- or post-workout snacks and even make a good bedtime treat. Since most store bought grab & go fare is full of additives and preservatives, I try to make a batch of protein bars or muffins when I prep for the week.

I should have named these the Boyfriend Bars because they’re the first homemade protein bar my boyfriend actually liked! I tweaked a recipe I found from Passionate Homemaking to suit what I had on hand and the results were amazing. I devoured one of these babies every morning for a week straight 😉

Cranberry Almond Power Bars

Makes 16 bars

bars

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups raw almonds
  • 1/4 pumpkin seeds
  • 1/4 cup raisins
  • 1/4 cup dried cranberries
  • ½ cup medium unsweetened coconut
  • ½ cup almond butter
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil, melted*
  • ¼ cup agave
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 5 squares dark chocolate, melted with 1 tbsp almond milk for topping

Directions:

  1. In small sauce pan, begin heating the coconut oil on low to melt it.
  2. In a food processor, combine almonds, pumpkin seeds, raisins, cranberries, coconut and almond butter. Pulse for ~30 seconds.
  3. When  oil is melted, add agave and vanilla to the sauce pan and mix completely. Add the mixture to the food processor and pulse until a coarse “batter” is formed.
  4. Press the batter into an 8 x 13 baking pan or a couple of glass containers. I used two of my 8 x 5 salad containers. Refrigerate for 1-2 hours until batter is “set” (i.e. hard enough to not crumble when adding your chocolate topping)
  5. When the batter is set, melt your chocolate with almond milk in a double boiler or microwave. Spoon over the bars and spread evenly.
  6. Refrigerate for at least another 20 mins before cutting. Makes ~16 squares depending on what size satisfies your morning snack attack 😉

*NOTE: Do not skimp on coconut oil! I used 1/3 cup for my first batch and it seemed too oily. I cut back to 1/4 cup the second time and the bars were crumbling apart when I tried to cut them. I measured this before melting.

Estimated Nutrition Stats (16 bars): Calories: 275, Fat: 22 g, Protein 6 g, Carbs: 15 g

This sounds like a lot of fat but compared to most store bought bars the carb content is half! Keep it mind it’s all healthy fats and this is a complete whole foods source. Healthy fats are good for weight loss, brain and heart function, and protect against numerous illnesses and ailments. But we’ll save that rant for another day 😉

Enjoy!

Liz xo

4 thoughts on “Cranberry Almond Power Bars

  1. Pingback: Cocoanut Warrior Balls | Lizzie Fit

  2. Pingback: Fit Friday: U-Sits | Lizzie Fit

  3. Pingback: The One Thing You Need for a Healthy Holiday Season | Lizzie Fit

Leave a Reply

