Veggie Collard Wraps & Mango Salsa

Have you ever felt like you just weren’t in the mood for anything!? That was me last weekend… I felt heavy after eating and drinking more than usual for the past couple of weeks. I didn’t want carbs, I didn’t want anything processed, but I didn’t want salad and I was too lazy to cook. Picky little lady aren’t I?!

But somehow, the food goddesses spoke to me and saved me from another spinach salad. I’ve been wanting to incorporate collard greens into my diet for a while. I love making lettuce tacos and I’ve tried chard wraps but I know every leafy green has its own special compilation of goodness. Check out the unbelievable nutrient content in collard greens here! 426% of my daily vitamin K?! Yes please!

Veggie Collard Wraps & Mango Salsa

Serves 2

June 1 005

Filling:

  • 1 tsp coconut oil
  • 1 bunch of collard greens, rinsed
  • 1 eggplant, julienned
  • 1 zucchini, julienned
  • 1 bell pepper, julienned
  • 5-7 mushrooms, sliced
  • 1/4 onion, sliced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • pinch cayenne pepper
  • salt/pepper to taste

Salsa:

  • 1 tomato, diced
  • 1 medium mango, diced
  • 1/4 onion, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • juice of 1/2 lemon or lime
  • 1 tsp chili peppers (optional)
  • salt/pepper to taste

June 1 001

1. In a large pan or skillet, heat 1 tsp oil on medium heat. Lightly saute onion and garlic until onions begin to brown, ~5 min.

2. Toss in the eggplant, zucchini, and bell pepper and saute until they begin to soften (~10 min). Season with salt, pepper and a pinch of cayenne if you like it hot. *NOTE: I really recommend peeling the eggplant… it’s weird.

3. For the salsa, lightly saute chopped onion in <1/2 tsp oil (unless you don’t mind them raw!).

4. In a small bowl combine onion, mango, tomato, garlic, spices, and the juice of 1/2 lemon or lime. That’s it!

4. Top your greens with the veggie mixture and salsa, wrap em up, enjoy 🙂

June 1 006     June 1 004

If you’re a raw foodie or want to make this meal even more simple, it would also be delicious with raw cucumber, carrots and peppers for the filling and uncooked onions. If you try the recipe please let me know what you think!

Tweet me @ElleGregg or tag me in your instagram photos @fitfoodeng 🙂

June 1 007

Eat your greens!

E xo

2 thoughts on “Veggie Collard Wraps & Mango Salsa

  1. Pingback: Favorite Salads | Lizzie Fit

Leave a Reply

