Product Review: Arbonne®

You don’t have to be vegan to love Arbonne®!

arbonne logo

I was introduced to Arbonne® a while ago when a friend became a consultant. At the time I was a student without a steady income and not have any interest in the words “natural” or “pure” and I especially did not have any connection to the word “vegan”. I may have been pleased to see “not tested on animals” but most of the above translated to “expensive” at the time.

Since then I’ve learned so much about the harmful chemicals in everyday products and the major effects they can have on our health and environment. I’ve been exposed to the truth about animal testing and exploitation and of course I am now trying to live a vegan lifestyle because of it. I’ve also learned that a chemical-free, cruelty-free lifestyle doesn’t have to be expensive. Acne medication (or worse) will cost you far more than you will save on cheap, crappy products.

June 2 002

Now… before you call me a tree-hugging vegan, let’s just look at one shocking example of why any average Jane should be a little more concerned with what she lathers onto her beautiful face. Have you ever read the label on your lipstick or blush ingredients? I bet it contains cochineal, a red pigment from the crushed female cochineal insect (looks like a beetle). It takes a million corpses to make 1 kg of carminic acid, the more “purified” form used in cosmetics, shampoos, food coloring, etc. Many people have allergic reactions to cochineal which is why blush or lipstick might cause breakouts or dry skin. Tell me you don’t think rubbing crushed bugs on your face is gross? This could explain why my cheeks continued breaking out even after switching to a vegan diet…

So in an effort to clean up my beauty routine, I contacted my friend and she hooked me up with some great Arbonne® products! It was so easy and fun shopping from the catalog while not having to research the ingredients on every single product.

May 27 027

Arbonne® products are vegan-certified and their products are never tested on animals. They also have an ingredient policy to screen out gluten and ingredients that contain GMO. All of their personal care products are formulated without the following nasty stuff:

  • Animal products or animal by-products
  • Parabens
  • Formaldehyde donating preservatives
  • The following petroleum-based ingredients:
    • Benzene
    • Mineral Oil
    • Petrolatum
    • Phthalates
    • Toluene
  • PABA

$$$ As for the price, everything was comparable to what I was already spending at Sephora. So what did I think of my stuff? Well let me tell you… 😉

June 2 004

1. Blush:

  • Color – The Berry color I chose is similar to my old favorite, Nars Orgasm. Win!
  • Quality -The pigment? WAY better than Nars! The first time I tried it I swirled my brush around 2-3 times like I used to and with just one sweep on my cheeks I looked like a clown. The next time I just tapped the brush into the product and gently swept it onto my skin. Perfect. This will last me forever.
  • Wear-ability – Excellent. It stayed on all night and I didn’t have to reapply.

2. Bronzer

  • Color – No problem since there is only one to choose from! Because it was light and powdery it swept on easily and looked very natural.
  • Quality – Again the pigment is intense. You only need a little bit so it will last a while. Though it looks to have the same consistency as pressed powder,  it goes on more like a loose powder so be careful.
  • Wear-ability – Just like the blush it lasted all night and I didn’t have to touch up.

And check out the adorable little bag this and the powder came with! No more make up all over the case from storing everything together in your make-up bag 🙂

June 2 003

3. Sheer Pressed Powder

  • Color – Three choices: light, dark, or medium so it was easy to choose from a catalog. The medium matched my skin perfectly and I applied with a foundation brush vs. the included pad. No shine and no break outs!
  • Quality – Reminded me of my favorite MAC powder 🙂
  • Wear-ability – Long-lasting but I did touch this up because I am kind of a shine-freak. I always “powder my nose” 😉

4. Creme Concelear

  • Color – Same options as the powder. A was a bit nervous about the color since I only use concealer for blemishes and don’t wear foundation. The verdict? Medium matched me perfectly!
  • Quality – I’ve only ever used a stick or a mineral powder type of concealer. The creme actually blended well with my skin and provided good coverage.
  • Wear-ability – I also touched this up because I was just getting over a break-out.

5. It’s a Long Story Mascara:

  • Color –  One option but let’s get real… does mascara color really make that much of a difference? It all looks black to me.
  • Quality – Reminded me of my Lancome Hypnose Star. I love the “rubber” brush and it was just the right size.
  • Wear-ability – Not water-proof but a little difficult to get off in the shower. It needs some gentle make-up remover. Stood the test of a sweaty stair-master workout after a full day in the pulp mill. No smudging!

6. Eye-Liner

  • Color – I chose ebony for my first purchase. Rich and dark just how I like it. I would also like to have brown for daytime/work but I don’t wear it very much.
  • Quality – Very smooth and easy to apply. I don’t think anything will compare to the creamy-ness of Chanel but it’s still up there with Lancome/Dior eyeliners I’ve tried.
  • Wear-ability – Same as the mascara. No smudgin here 😉

7. Pure Vibrance Texturizing Mousse

  • Though I feel nothing will compare to Redken Guts (open to suggestions) this did give my hair the thickness and working texture it gets with other mousse. If I don’t use some type of product my hair actually won’t do ANYTHING! It won’t even stay in a ponytail lol Gross. I am still looking for a root lifter for weekend hair but this is great for my everyday product 🙂

Overall? My consultant told me at dinner on Saturday that she couldn’t stop staring at my make up 🙂 Success, wouldn’t you say?

photo (12)

If you’re interested in trying out Arbonne for yourself:

  1. Check our arbonne.ca
  2. Contact me at fitfoodeng@gmail.com
  3. I’ll put you in touch with my consultant, Amy, and she can hook you up 🙂

Otherwise, let me know if you guys try out Arbonne on your own!

E xo

5 thoughts on “Product Review: Arbonne®

  1. Woah….I’m definitely gonna be checking out all my products now for this crushed insect carcass ingredient. I had no idea. Ew. I’m always up for the most pure and natural ingredients, so this makeup line sounds great. Plus, you look super pretty in your pic!

    • Thanks!:) And I had no idea until recently either… the worst part is that a lot of sketchy ingredients aren’t even required to be put on the label! It pays to go with a company who can 100% guarantee safe products 🙂

  2. Pingback: My Arbonne Journey | Homemade Sweet Home

  3. Thanks lizzy for the testimonial!
    I just started my arbonne business and I love hearing reviews of favorite products and its great that you did your own research!

    So why haven’t you started your arbonne business? 😉

    • I’ve been using Arbonne steady since I wrote that review! I haven’t had to replace my blush, bronzer, or pressed powder yet and I don’t think I could love any brand of mascara any more than I love theirs!

      Glad to hear you started a business with such an amazing company. My reason for not starting my own is because I have a good friend who supplies me with all my Arbonne needs and I would never have the time between my career, lifestyle, and blogging! haha

      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

