A Juicy Recap & South Shore Shenanigans

I did it! The cleanse is complete and I lasted the entire 7 days. I feel so light, revived and accomplished! If you missed the first two posts you can find them here:

Time for a Cleanse

Half Juiced: Cleanse Update

photo 1

I said in my update post that Day 2 was the hardest, where I was feeling tired and had a bit of a headache (detox symptoms). Now I would say Day 7 was the hardest, not for the physical symptoms but for the desire to eat and be social. The last 2 days of the 7 I spent with family and it was tough to be around people eating and drinking and wishing I could partake. Thank god for herbal tea!

July 2 011

I managed to talk myself through it and I am so happy I didn’t give up πŸ™‚ My boy did a good job at keeping me busy over the weekend too. He took me cruising around Lunenburg and Mahone Bay like we used to do when we lived there. He wanted to see if his furry friends would be around.

July 2 001

These cute little goats were just grazing around in a field and we jumped out to say hi. My “bahh’ing” at them actually made one bahh back. I had too much fun.

July 2 002

There was also a pretty pony across the road who came right up to the truck to let the bf pet her ❀

July 2 005

July 2 006

When it was way passed lunch time we stopped at a little cafe for some eats (for one). I was totally cool with getting a tea until I found out the menu had loads of vegetarian/vegan options! This is where things started to get tough. It’s hard enough to seek out these places and the one time we stumble upon one I can’t eat!

July 2 009

The Gazebo Cafe

The Yogi Wrap was made with fresh veggies and house hummus and the Peace Burger had house dressing and avocado mayo. They also had butternut squash soup, several tasty looking salads and you can sub soy milk for any smoothies. Where am I?!

July 2 013

We agreed to come back on Monday before heading home so I could try something and it turned my disappointment around πŸ˜‰

Fast forward to Monday… I know JV suggests slowly adding solid foods back into your diet but I was far too excited about the restaurant and hey, it’s not like I was going to eat a huge piece of steak. I started my morning with a green smoothie and planned on eating half a wrap for lunch but when I found out the daily special was a vegetarian curry chickpea stew I was sold.

July 2 014

There’s no way I would be able to finish it anyway πŸ˜‰

July 2 015

It was absolutely to die for πŸ˜€ Everyone else really enjoyed their meals as well and apparently the seafood chowder was the best anyones ever had. I love Mahone Bay!

July 2 020

Since we were traveling I had to pre-make some juices (see FAQ) and make a few at our hosts’ place. A big shout out to Ms Cohoon for allowing me to use her juicer and ingredients to whip up a few Boost Juices over the weekend πŸ˜‰ So lucky to have such supportive, kind people in my life ❀

So now for some answers to your burning questions!

A Juicy Recap

The FAQ I received over the remainder of the cleanse was similar to the first half of the week, but were my answers the same?

IMG_2278[1]

How did I feel, physically?

My energy levels were normal the most part. I did find I was wiped by 10 pm when usually I stay up until 11 or so. This is most likely due to the overall calorie restriction of juices. I had no trouble working, performing light exercise, or going about my daily routine. Oh and my skin hasn’t been this clear in months πŸ™‚

Was I hungry?

I didn’t experience hunger pains but at times I did just want to eat out of habit. I always felt hungry when juice time was around the corner but the juices did satisfy me until my next fix. In the mean time, herbal tea, water, herbal tea, water!

July 2 010

Did I continue working out?

I did a BodyPump and a BodyAttack class early in the week but these are tough classes. On Day 3 I decided it might be too intense to continue for the remainder of the cleanse so I did daily Hot Yoga classes.

Did I cheat?

No! Of course it was tough but 7 days is nothing in the grand scheme of your life.

How did I juice while traveling/Can you pre-make juices?

The nutrients do begin to break down once the veggies are juiced/blended. You can, however, stretch the life a bit by storing in air-tight containers (think Mason jars) and keeping refrigerated. I honestly have no idea how any normal person would do a juice cleanse while working, etc. if they didn’t pre-make a few… For the trip I filled my cooler for 2 days and made a few when we got there.

IMG_2250

What was the final bill?

I spend about $150 in groceries for the cleanse and another $80 on the supplements. I would say if I had bought a regular order of groceries for the week and ate out a few times it would add up to that. As for the supplements, I was planning to purchase a probiotic and wheatgrass anyway so I shouldn’t really even consider that part of the cost.

Did I lost weight?

Surprisingly I did lose a few pounds thought my main goal was a healthy detox. However, someone like myself with a very clean diet prior to cleansing will likely gain that weight back when returning to their regular diet. If you had a poor diet before the cleanse and transition into a healthier lifestyle afterwards, you can definitely keep it off!

Would I do it again?

For sure… but during a week when I know I will have the whole 7 days to myself. JV recommends once per season so I may take another stab at it in the fall.

14

So that’s it! If you have any other questions feel free to shoot me an email at lizziefitblog@gmail.com πŸ™‚

In the mean time, why not try this green smoothie challenge for July?! No juicer necessary (just a blender) and it’s just one green monster per day. Check out simplegreensmoothies.com/30-day-challenge to sign up and have the shopping list and recipes sent right to your inbox! For free! Let me know if you sign up.

30Dayside_July1

Liz xo

4 thoughts on “A Juicy Recap & South Shore Shenanigans

  1. Pingback: The Perfect Pear Smoothie | Lizzie Fit

  2. Pingback: La (en)Vie est Belle! | Lizzie Fit

  3. Pingback: Juice Cleanse 2.0 | Lizzie Fit

  4. Pingback: Give Thanks! + Apple Cranberry Stuffing | Lizzie Fit

Leave a Reply

