Fit Friday: HIIT Me Up

Happy Fit Fri-Thursday πŸ™‚

I’m posting early since I’m heading to Cape Breton tonight and won’t have the best cell service over the weekend. Another surprise: I’ve got a little something different for you this week! Since I’ve done about a month’s worth of exercise moves I figured I’d put together a total body workout. Its a combination of strength training & cardio for some high intensity interval training (HIIT).

I completed this entire workout using 12.5 lb dumbbells so the reps are based on what felt challenging for me. It looked pretty innocent on paper but it was a doozy πŸ˜‰

Me Gym

If you only have light or heavy weights on hand, adjust your reps accordingly but be sure to challenge yourself. If it’s not challenging you, it’s not changing you!

New to HIIT? A brief lesson: HIIT is a type of cardiovascular exercise that consists of alternating periods of high impact, anaerobic exercise with lower-impact recovery periods. This type of training helps improve athletic ability, boosts metabolism and provides a higher fat burn than any other type of exercise.

Fit Friday: HIIT Me Up

IMG_0405

You will need:

  • 8-12 lb dumbells
  • medicine ball (optional for #11)
  • exercise ball or bench (for #7)

The workout consists of strength training sets followed by a short cardio burst. Perform the cardio intervals as fast as you can and repeat the entire workout 2 times total (3 if you dare!)

  1. 12 squat to overhead press
  2. 12 lunges, left then right leg (24 total)
  3. 20 switch lunges
  4. 20 bent over rows
  5. 12 renegade row push-ups
  6. 12 burpee push-ups (push-up is optional)
  7. 20 chest press
  8. 12 elevated push-up knee tuck
  9. 12 squat jumps
  10. 15 side plank knee to elbow, left then right side (30 total)
  11. 12 leg lifts with weight overhead
  12. 40 mountain climbers

I recommend following with 20-30 minutes cardio of choice!

I’ve included a You Tube link to each move because I realize not everyone has a database of workout moves in their head. Maybe for my next workout I’ll make my own short video to highlight a few seconds of each move. What do you guys think?

Let me know if you give this a go πŸ™‚

Liz xo

5 thoughts on “Fit Friday: HIIT Me Up

  1. Pingback: It’s About Time I Take Exercising To the Next Level | BJ's Learning Log

  2. Pingback: Fit Friday: Dumbbell Swings | Lizzie Fit

  3. Pingback: Fit Friday: Renegade Rows | Lizzie Fit

  4. Pingback: Fit Friday: Damn Girl | Lizzie Fit

  5. Pingback: Fit Friday: One Arm Row | Lizzie Fit

Leave a Reply

