What Dark Chocolate Dreams Are Made Of

Hello fellow chocoholics 😉

I had my first expedition to a US health food store a few months ago while traveling for work. We have some great HF stores in the Maritimes and even my local grocers carry some amazing natural/organic/vegan products, but there are a few little gems that I can’t seem to find anywhere in my city…

  • Speculoos Cookie Butter, exclusive to Trader Joe’s
  • Annie’s Goddess Dressing
  • So Delicious Coconut Coffee Creamer

AND

  • PB & Co. Dark Chocolate Dreams

I think I had DCD with a snack every single night.. in yogurt, on rice cakes, mixed with berries, nuts, granola, EVERYTHING! So you can imagine my disappointment when the jar was finally empty…

July 12 009

To my office couch I go… and return with 2 recipes for dark chocolate peanut butter! One from Angela and a variation from Emma. I combined the two to suit my preferences and the result was magical 🙂

It doesn’t taste exactly like the real thing which is a bit sweeter and thicker but I’m sure it’s better for me in a health-sense. DCD is still pretty decent (all natural, no trans-fat) but I’m sure this homemade 4-ingredient recipe takes the health cake.

Lizzie & Co. Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter

July 12 014

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups peanuts
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate
  • 2 tsp coconut oil
  • 1/8 tsp salt (if your peanuts are unsalted)

Directions:

  1. In a food processor, process almonds until creamy and smooth, scraping the sides when necessary. This should take about 12-15 mins.
  2. While processing, use a double boiler to melt the chocolate and coconut oil. Be careful not to burn the chocolate or let any water into the chocolate mixture which will cause it to burn. You can melt it in the microwave as well but use short time intervals and stir to avoid burning.
  3. Add the chocolate mixture and salt to the nut butter and continue to process until fully combined. It will be hot and runny.
  4. Refrigerate and enjoy in a few hours!

IMG_2494 IMG_2495

IMG_2497 July 12 013

One of the recipes said to allow the PB to come to room temperature before serving but I didn’t find it was always necessary. Plus I just eat it right out of the jar most of the time anyway 😉

Enjoy!

Liz xo

3 thoughts on “What Dark Chocolate Dreams Are Made Of

Leave a Reply

