Fit Friday: Arm Sweat HIIT

Happy Long Weekend 🙂

If you’re in my neck of the woods that is… Happy New Brunswick day to those in my province of residence or Happy Natal Day to my friends back home in Nova Scotia where I will be celebrating cottage-style with some of my favourite people 🙂

Jenna's Cottage, Antigonish - May, 2013

Jenna’s Cottage, Antigonish – May, 2013

When I’m busy in the summers I can’t always make my favorite group fitness class and sometimes I’d just rather get in and out on my own terms. So what does a group fitness junkie do to get through a solo cardio session? HIIT of course! In addition to being the most effective type of cardiovascular training, it also makes the time go by much faster when you’re counting intervals.

My all-time favorite cardio machine is the Stairmaster. It drives my heart rate through the roof and gives me arm sweat like no other! This is how I gauge effectiveness 😉 I would also recommend a stationary bike but any machine or trail will do.

Pick your poison and let’s begin!

Fit Friday: Arm Sweat HIIT

photo 2

  • Warm-Up 2-3 minutes at a moderate pace
  • Block 1 = 1:2      –  High intensity for 1 min, recovery for 2 min. Repeat 2x
  • Block 2 = 1:1      –  High intensity for 1 min, recovery for 1 min. Repeat 3x
  • Block 3 = 30:30  –  High intensity for 30 sec, recovery for 30 sec. Repeat 4x and make the fourth last one minute!
  • Recover 2-3 minutes

Here’s a printable timetable to help you track your intervals:

Screen Shot 2013-08-01 at 7.53.46 PM

*Note: Cool down as long as necessary!

For me, high intensity is level 17-18 on the Stairmaster and recovery is level 12 (sometimes 8 for a few seconds when really breathless!). Remember to listen to YOUR body. A level 17 may not be a maintainable high interval for you, just like it may not be tough enough if you are in very good cardiovascular shape.

At the same time, be sure to challenge yourself. If you find you aren’t breathless after your high intervals, you should step it up a bit. Literally 😉

Now go get sweaty, people!

photo 3

Liz xo

6 thoughts on “Fit Friday: Arm Sweat HIIT

  1. Pingback: Fit Friday: Renegade Rows | Lizzie Fit

  2. Pingback: Traveling Fit | Lizzie Fit

  3. Pingback: Fit Friday: Damn Girl | Lizzie Fit

  4. Pingback: Fit Friday: One Arm Row | Lizzie Fit

  5. Pingback: Fit Friday: I’ve Got The Power Walk | Lizzie Fit

  6. Pingback: Boost Your Burn | Lizzie Fit

Leave a Reply

