Cocoanut Warrior Balls

Hey wellness warriors 🙂

Hope you enjoyed a lovely long weekend! If you didn’t get a holiday this week, I hope you your 2-day weekend was extra exciting 😉 Mine was filled with good friends & good music back in the homeland. I’ll have some pics of our Natal Day shenanigans later this week.

You’ve probably read in many of my posts that I’m big on keeping my kitchen stocked with healthy foods to keep me on track – a giant fruit bowl on the counter, Larabars in the cupboard, and most of the time I have some homemade bars in the fridge. One of my first posts was for these Cran-Almond Power Bars that I LOVE but they take a bit of time. This week I wanted to whip up something quick for pre- or post-workout fuel and mid-morning snacks.

IMG_0689

I came across the original recipe for these protein balls a while back but I can’t remember where. They took about 10 minutes total to make and I had all of the ingredients I wanted to use on hand. I couldn’t resist calling them Warrior Balls since I love referring to us as Wellness Warriors and I used my beloved, raw Sunwarrior protein powder 🙂

IMG_0673 IMG_0675

You can pretty much use whatever you want for the dry ingredients. Oats and coconut can be subbed in equal quantities, any protein powder will work, and flours can replace the cocoa powder. Maple syrup also works instead of agave but the sweetener could be eliminated completely, especially if using vanilla protein powder. I’ll be experimenting with these a bit in the future 😉

But for now, here’s what I’ve got for you…

Cocoanut Warrior Balls

Makes 16 balls

IMG_0696

Prep Time: 10 min + 1 hour refrigeration

Nutritional Stats: Per ball, 135 calories & 12 g protein

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup protein powder
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup coconut, shredded
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup almond butter
  • 2 tbsp agave nectar

Directions:

  1. Combine all dry ingredients in a medium-large sized bowl.
  2. Melt coconut oil in the microwave for ~20 seconds. Combine with nut butter and sweetener and if necessary, microwave for another 20 seconds. I used a fresh nut butter jar so I didn’t need to.
  3. Add wet ingredients to dry and combine until mixture is evenly distributed and crumbly.
  4. Form into 16 balls (~30 g each) and arrange on a baking sheet.
  5. Refrigerate for ~1 hour. Grab. Go. Nom!

IMG_0679 IMG_0684

I could have eaten the entire batch. Good thing I have a big, hungry bf who enjoys my healthy treats 😉

Stay tuned for some yummy variations!

Liz xo

4 thoughts on “Cocoanut Warrior Balls

  1. Omg I am so making these. Balls are my favorite, and these look scrumptious! I’ve been wanting chocolate a lot lately and have been attempting different vegan brownies, but I think these look like they could be a win.

  2. Pingback: La (en)Vie est Belle! | Lizzie Fit

  3. Pingback: Vanilla Almond Warrior Balls | Lizzie Fit

Leave a Reply

