Chocolate Cherry Bomb Smoothie

Oh Hello, August 🙂

I realize we’re already a week in but I have yet to post a featured smoothie for the month! It’s exciting to think that this will be my third smoothie of the month already, not to mention it’s my 40th post. Time flies when you’re having fun 😉

Speaking of fun….

Aug 5 004

We had an awesome long weekend in Nova Scotia ❤ The weather was perfect for sunning & swimming at the cove and we didn’t get rained on too much at the Jubilee (check out those dark clouds…). The concerts were amazing both nights and I was beyond excited to be so close to the stage for Matt Mays. I love my boyfriend but I have a serious musician crush >:)

Thank you to the Hazelton family for hosting the 1st annual (insert catchy long-weekend title here) and a special thanks to Jeff Boyardee for his gourmet meals all weekend 😀

Now for the reason you’re really here…

Aug 5 001

This month’s smoothie was first inspired by Kristen’s  Cherry Chocolate Bomb Shake (yes I interchanged the words ;)) I was addicted during my smoothie-a-day challenge in May and now I’m hooked again!

Chocolate Cherry Bomb Smoothie

12

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup frozen or fresh cherries
  • 1 banana*
  • 1 tbsp cacao nibs
  • 1/2 scoop chocolate protein powder**
  • 1.5 cups almond milk
  • 2-3 ice cubes
  • few cacao nibs to top it off

*Remember you can always sub the banana for 1/2-3/4 cup yogurt (cogurt for us vegans)

** Chocolate protein powder can be substituted by using plain or vanilla & adding 2 tbsp coco powder

It’s also optional to add a handful of greens which I usually do, especially if I didn’t juice that day. It makes a pretty pink smoothie more swamp-like but still delicious and you can’t taste the greens! Promise 🙂

Aug 5 003

Check out smoothies of the month for June and July if you haven’t already and let me know what you think!

Popeye Power Smoothie

Perfect Pear Smoothie

Have an Amazing August!

Liz xo

6 thoughts on “Chocolate Cherry Bomb Smoothie

  1. Pingback: Happy “New Year” | Lizzie Fit

  2. Pingback: Smoothie for Lunch | Lizzie Fit

  3. Pingback: Pumpkin Gingerbread Smoothie | Lizzie Fit

  4. Pingback: Keep Calm & Eat Cupcakes + Basic Chocolate Cupcake Recipe | Lizzie Fit

Leave a Reply

