Lizzie Fit in the Kitch

Hey Friends πŸ™‚

Welcome to the week! Hope you all had a lovely weekend and are feeling refreshed and ready to ninja kick your to-do lists and workout plans for this week.

I was lucky enough to have a weekend with my family for the third time this summer! They stopped in for a couple of days in the middle of a mini-vacation and we spent our time taking in some local sights and a few indulgences πŸ˜‰

IMG_0922

Some of my top favorite things about summer:

  • Dining al fresco
  • Ice cold summer ales
  • Flowy dresses & shorts
  • The best excuse to vacation & relax ❀

All points were covered this weekend and then some πŸ™‚

Aug 5 002

I wanted to have some treats around the house for my visitors so I decided to get domestic in the kitchen last week. I made theseΒ sweet potato browniesΒ that I’ve been meaning to try for a long time. I subbed pure pumpkin for the sweet potato and used a flax-egg to make them vegan. They were alright but didn’t turn out as authentic tasting as I’d hoped. I think the pumpkin-sub was the problem :/

Fortunately, I could enjoy anything covered in almond butter πŸ˜‰

IMG_0778

I’ll try them again soon using sweet potatoes since the starch is what’s supposed to allow for the reduced oil and fat content. Womp! Β If anyone gives the linked recipe a try please let me know how it goes.

On a better note, the zucchini bread turned out pretty decent! This was an attempt at veganizing a classic recipe which resulted in something that wasn’t even CLOSE to the original but I like that it was my own ❀

IMG_0873

The weird thing about it… it was SO much better a few days later at room temperature with some Earth Balance on it. Mom said she thought it was pretty good but not as light and fluffy as she’d prefer.

I can share the recipe on the blog if anyone likes but it still needs some work. This was attempt #2 which was a thousand times better than my first try a few weeks ago so I think I’m getting the hang of this πŸ˜‰

The highlight of my domestic endeavors this weekend, however, was definitely the pizza dip!

photo 1

Not that this took any amount of skill to produce but it still felt risky since I was making it for non-vegans. One of my very first roommates in university used to make the most bomb-@$$ pizza dip for parties and we would kill it (shout out to Krista!). I’ve had her recipe for years but never made it even before being vegan because I knew it wouldn’t end well… not for me or the dip.

The result of the vegan version? Well, my mom and I devoured that entire pan and felt no shame. No dairy, no meat, and Que Pasa tortila chips. Where’s the harm in that? πŸ˜‰

I was asked by Tofutti to share a recipe using one of their products to feature on their blog and I think this is it! That means I can’t share it on my blog but I can link to it when the post goes live. I can’t wait for an excuse to make it again!

Despite all of this indulging, of course I kept it clean for the most part. They don’t call me Lizzie Fit for nothin πŸ˜‰

photo 2

Through the week I usually go for 90-95% clean eats and on the weekends I cut myself some slack. My “unclean” percentage would consist of things like non-dairy cheese and coconut yogurt since they have quite a bit of additives.

On a typical Saturday I stick to juices, smoothies, fruit & salads until dinner then treat myself to a few drinks and/or something a little more indulgent at dinner. However, I always make a point NOT to overeat. I honestly just hate the feeling of being too full.

photo 3

My advice is to pick your battles… if you plan on having more than a drink or two, eat a clean dinner. If you plan on having a delicious vegan pizza dip for a late night snack, limit your beer and choose something light for dinner. We all overdo it sometimes but don’t let that be a reason to call it quits. I may have had an extra few hundred calories on the weekend (hey, I’m only human) but I was sure to jump back in head first on Monday morning.

Balance is the key to success with this healthy lifestyle thing. None of us are perfect and none of us want to live boring, restrictive lives. If you are struggling to reach this place of balance, check out my post on Getting There. Once you reach your goal, maintenance is half the battle. Promise πŸ™‚

photo 4

Stay tuned for attempt #3 at my vegan zucchini bread which I have a pretty good feeling about. In the meantime, I’ll be back with a post later this week on keeping fit on the road when you think you have no choice!

Have a fit & healthy week ❀

Liz xo

2 thoughts on “Lizzie Fit in the Kitch

    • It was thanks πŸ™‚ I made it as a lunch salad when I didn’t have time for salad. Want the recipe?
      4 stalks of celery (or cucumber)
      4-5 romaine leaves
      handful spinach
      1/4 avocado
      1 cup frozen mango chunks
      1.5 cups coconut water
      squeeze of agave (optional)
      2 ice cubes

      πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

