Traveling Fit

We’ve all said it…

…when traveling and away from our normal routine… convinced that there is no hope…

“Next week is a write off for me”

“It’s impossible to eat healthy on the road”

But really what we’re saying is… “I can’t be bothered put forth the effort to stay on track while I’m away”. I know this is true because I’ve both let my self go and stayed on track while away. It’s always a choice.

choices

This year I promised myself that work trips would no longer throw me off my game. I do find I usually overeat a little while traveling because my schedule is different (time changes, longer days, etc.) BUT I am sure to only overeat the good stuff like fruit & veggies!

This week I found myself in a very small town for a work trip. My motel didn’t have a gym and there wasn’t a veggie-friendly restaurant in site. I mean not even a franchise where I could get a decent salad. Here’s how I got through the week…

My first night in town I went to a grocery store and got a haul of plant power for lunches and snacks for the upcoming days. I was pretty lucky that they had such a good selection for a small spot.

Haul

I planned on having fruit, nuts & bars for snacks but since the only lunch option near our work site was a pizza place, I had to get creative. My options at the “meals to go” section of the grocery store were pretty slim but luckily they had pre-cut veggies, hummus and Tofurkey deli slices! Believe it or not, this was a satisfying, filling lunch topped of with some fresh, local berries.

Lunchย Tofurkey Wraps

My veggie wraps may seem a little weird but there was actually a recipe on the back of the package for asparagus wrapped in Tofurkey with mustard. So there you go… not that weird at all ๐Ÿ˜‰

For breakfast we did Dunkin Donuts. I got plain oatmeal without milk and added half a banana or some blueberries a packet of PB.

photo 3

Dinner was at a local family restaurant. No veggie options on the menu but I asked if they could make me a veggie wrap with Italian dressing and a side salad. They even offered to grill the veggies and it was delicious (no pic to avoid being weird with my co-workers).

On my way home after my last day I stopped at my go-to spot for travel meals – Superstore! Unfortunately they didn’t have any veggie sushi or soup and I was sick of raw carrots. What’s a vegan girl to do? I bought some Pacifica butternut squash soup, grabbed a to-go soup bowl and heated it in the microwave in the dining area. Their salads are always amazing (so thankful!) so I was pretty happy with this ๐Ÿ™‚

photo 4

Meal challenge accepted and completed!

But what about workouts?! How would I survive without a gym in a small motel room? Fortunately there was a community fitness center down the road.. unfortunately by the time I was able to workout it was closed. I remembered the Living Room Workout from Go Fit Galsย and though it was a little cozy, it got the job done.

Living Room Workout

I made two changes:

  1. Held my full suit case in my arms during lunges for an added challenge
  2. Subbed reverse flys for rows so I could use my suitcase

I did 100 high knees to warm up then repeated the circuit 4 times. I was in a serious sweat 30 minutes later…

Aug 5 011

The second night I had a chance to check out the community center. It was amazing! They had everything you can imagine for weight training plus a martial arts room in the back. The room wasn’t in use so the guy at the desk let me plug in my iPhone and rock out for the next hour.

All to myself

I was in fitness heaven. I wanted to workout forever because I had so much equipment and space at my disposal! However, I remembered how many stairs I was running during the workdays and figured I better not get too excited ๐Ÿ˜‰

I did my own circuit which I’ll be sharing for Fit Friday tomorrow (stay tuned!) and followed it with my Arm Sweat HIITย on the Stairmaster. I forgot how much I love the old school 4000PT. No wait time to increase intensity. Arm. Sweat!

photo 1

I was pretty proud of myself at the end of the trip. It would have been really easy to order the sweet potato fries that our waitress suggested as “healthy” or sit back with a beer instead of working out. But as my mom always said… Nothing worth having comes easy.ย 

There has never been a more true statement for me โค

So next time you’re traveling and think you have no choice but to fall off the wagon, remember you DO have a choice and it’s up to you to make the fit one ๐Ÿ™‚

Calais Gym

Being healthy & fit isn’t a trend. It’s not a diet, a term, or an event. It’s a lifestyle.ย It’s a wellness journey ๐Ÿ™‚

Liz xo

11 thoughts on “Traveling Fit

  1. Thanks so much for this post. I travel A LOT for my job and need some inspiration. it’s so easy to get off track while traveling (especially the sleep is poor). Will make some changes next week and in the weeks to come with travel.

    • You’re very welcome! It’s not easy and there were a few nights I just wanted to cuddle up in my room but I knew I would thank myself for making the right choices. Glad I could help motivate you today ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Pingback: 7DSD – Day 5 | Fearless Food & Fitness

  3. Pingback: Fit Friday: Damn Girl | Lizzie Fit

  4. Pingback: 7DSD – Day 5 | Fearless Food + Fitness

Leave a Reply

