Fit Friday: U-Sits

T.G.I.F.F!

I am feeling really good about September so far. I’ve been back on track since Tuesday and have been making a conscious effort not to mindless munch and to stay away from the sweets. There might not be any baked goods posted on the blog for a bit. But don’t worry! I will still be sharing some healthy, homemade treats like Warrior Balls and Protein Bars. I’d go insane without my daily sweet reatreat 😉

IMG_0845

Today I’m sharing one of my favorite, no-equipment-necessary core moves. This was one I found in a Shape magazine workout that featured Audrina Patridge from the Hills. Remember that show? Oh guilty pleasure 😉 It was a killer ab routine and this one always stood out to me, so here you go:

Fit Friday: U-Sits

AKA: Boat Pose Crunches, Boat Crunches

Weight: None

Reps: 3 sets of 15-25 on each side

Method:

1. Begin in a boat pose or Navasana as the yogis call it. You should be leaning back slightly to find that comfortable spot on your bottom with your back straight, chest up, shoulders back, & arms extended. If it’s your first time trying boat pose, use a mirror and check out this link.

IMG_0807

2. Bring your knees into your chest in a “scooping” motion as if to draw a “U” with your toes. At the same time, lift your chest to fully engage your core.

IMG_0808

3. Return to boat pose by making the same scooping motion to re-trace your “U”. It was tough to highlight the U-motion in the pics.

IMG_0807

Repeat 15-25 times depending on your core strength but as always, challenge yourself!

If you’re looking for more Fit Friday moves, workouts or motivation, check out the new Fitness Page. I will be keeping all of my fitness content here for easy, one-click access.

Have a fit & healthy weekend 🙂

Liz xo

4 thoughts on “Fit Friday: U-Sits

  1. I’m glad you’re back on track for September, but I’m certainly not!! I started the month visiting my husband’s parents in Boston (it’s hard not to eat a lot when your Italian mother-in-law is continually feeding you lots of homemade food – especially since she prepared it all vegan!). I’m sure I’ll get back on track soon. Thanks for sharing the U-Sits. That looks like a great core exercise – something I can use!! Celeste 🙂

    • You have to enjoy yourself at times like that! If I had someone cooking vegan for me I wouldn’t be ready to get back on the wagon yet either 😉 As plant-based eaters, it’s easier for us to maintain our health and fitness anyway I think 🙂

Leave a Reply

