Loaded Apple Nachos

So I have a confession to make…

I have a total blog crush on Oh She Glows! I can’t stop making these recipes. Everything is so delicious, easy, & healthy! I often get asked where I find my recipe ideas and vegspiration and this blog is definitely one of my top 5 resources.

Last week I tried this 15 Minute Creamy Avocado Pasta with Kamut spaghetti and I am hooked. The bf said the avocado left an odd after taste so he mixed a bit of marinara in with his but I think I was just short on the lemon juice & basil. Tonight I followed the recipe exactly and was swooning over every noodle.

IMG_1208

By the way… I even surprised myself with where I get my vegan protein this week. There are 15 g of protein in a 3 oz serving of Eden Organic Kamut spaghetti! Say what?! Just for fun I thought I’d check out whole wheat noodles… yup, 14 g in the grocery store brand. Fist pump 😉

After my swoon fest I made this Raw Pecan Pumpkin Butter for some fall-inspired dipping and spreading. I also had to make a second batch of the Quick ‘n Easy No Bake Protein Bars. I tried them a couple of weeks ago with brown rice syrup instead of maple syrup. The batter was really dry so I needed to add quite a bit of almond milk. They turned out a little floppy and took a lot longer to freeze enough to cut but still tasted amazing. This time I stuck to maple syrup and, you guessed it… swoon 🙂

sep 20 045

Now for a little something of my own! Inspired by Shape magazine a few months back, apple nachos became an evening staple for this girl. I made a few tweaks to get it just how I like it and it needs to be shared with everyone I know. Make these ASAP!

sep 20 054

Oh and go buy yourself an apple corer/slicer… Possibly one of the best inventions ever. Thanks mom 😉

Loaded Apple Nachos

Prep time: 5 min

Serves: 1

IMG_1201

Ingredients

  • 1 medium apple
  • 1/2 tbsp almond butter
  • 1/2 tbsp unsweetened, shredded coconut
  • 1/2 tbsp chopped or slivered nuts
  • 1/2-1 tbsp chocolate chips (I used Enjoy Life)

Directions

  1. Slice apple into 16-20 wedges. I use a handheld apple slicer then cut the wedges in halves or thirds.
  2. Arrange apple slices on a small plate and microwave for ~3 mins
  3. Drizzle with 1/2 tbsp almond butter then sprinkle with coconut, nuts, & chocolate chips.
  4. Enjoy while watching The Bachelor or PLL

You can use a variety of as many toppings as you like but I’ve tailored this to be around 300 calories.

Have a lovely week 🙂

Liz xo

7 thoughts on “Loaded Apple Nachos

  1. I am right there with on the OSG crush. I love her blog! I’ve made her avocado pasta before too, so good. I’ll have to keep an eye out for that kamut pasta. I’ll take extra protein wherever I can get it.
    Your nachos look delicious too. Perfect for a last minute craving!

    • She’s pretty amazing right? That pasta dish is literally 15 minutes from package to table. The “nachos” are one of my all-time fave late night snacks:) Baked apples are also much easier to digest so they aren’t heavy in your stomach before bed!

  2. Love the idea of apple nachos! I, too, totally have a blog crush on ohsheglows. I’ve been meaning to try those protein bars! Did you use Sun Warrior? I only have the vanilla kind that’s sweetened with stevia so I’m wondering if I should use less sweetener.

    • The protein bars are so good I can’t stop eating them! I used Natural flavoured Sunwarrior and they are pretty sweet. If you use vanilla I would definitely recommend cutting the sweetener in half and making up the liquid with something else (maybe almond milk?). The batter was pretty dry.

      Let me know if you attempt the bars or the apple nachos 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Pingback: Lizzie Fit’s Favorite Healthy Cooking Tools | Healthy Living Blogs

Leave a Reply

