On the Juice: Lessons Learned & Fave Recipes

I’m halfway through Juice Cleanse 2.0 & not feeling one bit crazy 😉

I can’t believe how much interest I received from people about how to get into juicing or how to start a cleanse. I am so excited to hear that more and more people are catching on to the power of raw fruits & veggies!

Plants = Nature’s Medicine.

juicing

Next week I want to post some FAQ’s I’ve received but as promised, today I’ll be sharing what I learned from cleanse 1.0 and some of my favourite juice recipes. So what doing differently the second time around?

1. Buying the right sized containers!

I thought a set of 500 mL mason jars would cut it. No way. Some of these juices fill an entire 1 L jar, especially if you bulk them up with ice. I hated taking two containers for one juice because you can only carry so much with you to work. I also didn’t enjoy rummaging around for bottles and containers that would do the job and having them leak all over my stuff.

Image

2. Clearing my schedule (for real!)

I thought my schedule was cleared for the first cleanse but I had tentative plans to travel to Nova Scotia for Canada Day weekend. I ended up traveling with a cooler full of ice and juices prepared for 2 days and it was kind of a disaster. Some of the jars broke and some of the juices tasted nasty after 2 days. I had to re-make a few but lucky for me our hostess had a juicer!

It was also kind of painful to be around people eating BBQ and drinking beer. This time I plan on sticking close to home for the weekend and just hanging out with my guy. We have plans to keep busy but nothing that involves food.

May 27 034

3. Adjusting my workout schedule

I planned on going to my regular fitness classes throughout the first week and just going easy. If you know me, you know that’s not my style… I pushed myself a little too hard at BodyAttack and Pump early in the week and I was wiped by Wednesday. I finished the week with Yoga and some light weights but this time I won’t be so prideful.

Yes you are recommended to exercise on the cleanse but not intensely. This is my schedule for the current week and I feel pretty great so far:

  • Monday – BodyStep
  • Tuesday – Dance Class
  • Wednesday – 1/2 hr BodyAttack + 1/2 hr CXWorx (core conditioning)
  • Thursday – Hot Yoga
  • Friday – Light weights or Yoga
  • Saturday – Trail hike
  • Sunday – Rest/Stretch

sep 20 024

4. Easing off the juice

Last time I jumped back into solid foods. I started day 8 with a smoothie but I was so excited about a new restaurant we found in NS that I wanted to go there for lunch before we left. I could only finish half but I felt pretty heavy and weighted down; the exact opposite of how I should have felt at that point! I also ate more than I should have at the following few meals and none of it sat very well with me.

The recommendation is to have juices or smoothies for breakfast and lunch on day 8 and maybe have a salad at dinner. On day 9 you can try a salad at lunch. Bottom line: to get maximum benefits you don’t want to go from 7 days of juice to a huge bowl of pasta!

cheesecake factory

5. Using a sprinkle vs. a tsp of cinnamon in my evening “Hot ‘n Spicy”

At 9 each night you can juice 3 apples, warm in a saucepan with 1 tsp of cinnamon, and enjoy like a hot apple cider. For whatever reason this made me really nauseous so I tried it without the cinnamon and was fine! I just add a sprinkle for taste now.

Favourite Juice Recipes

The most popular question I’ve been asked is what type of recipes are on the cleanse and what goes into my daily juice. Here are a few of the magical potions that keep me feeling funky & fresh 😉

Turbo Express (serves 2)

This is one of the main juices on the 7 lbs in 7 days Super Juice Diet but I altered the quantities just a tad. I drank this quite a bit after the cleanse because the avocado made it nice & filling for breakfast and it was really quick to make!

IMG_1445

  • 2 apples
  • 1 handful baby spinach leaves
  • 1 stalk celery
  • 1/4 cucumber
  • 1/4 lime
  • 1/2 pineapple
  • 1/4 avocado
  • 3-4 ice cubes

Juice everything except the avocado but pack the spinach between the apples or other hard veggies for maximum juice extraction. Leafy greens don’t juice well alone. Add the juice to the blender with the avocado and ice and let it whir for about 1 minute or until smooth.

Make Juice, Not War (serves 2)

From the lovely Kris Carr, this is my go-to green juice on any day! This one wouldn’t serve as breakfast for me but I like it first thing in the morning, about 1/2 hour before eating. I play around with the leafy greens depending on what’s in the fridge. Sometimes I sub zucchini or extra cucumber if I’m missing other ingredients.

green juice

  • 2 large cucumbers
  • 5 stalks kale
  • 5 romaine leaves
  • 4 stalks celery
  • 2 big broccoli stems
  • 2 apples or pears
  • 1″ piece gingerroot

Beet Bliss (serves 2)

This is my own simple combination of veggies and beets. If you’re new to juicing with beets, I recommend starting with a half a beet or a very small one. One day I downed a juice with an entire large beet on an empty stomach and wanted to die. Beets immediately go to work on detoxifying your liver and kidneys so you have to work your way up. Sometimes I do this one without any greens, just carrot, beet & apple, but I like it with a little bit of everything just the same.

carrot beet ginger

  • 2 apples
  • 1 medium sized beet
  • 3 medium carrots
  • 1/4 cucumber
  • 2-3 celery stalks
  • handful spinach
  • 1″ piece gingerroot

No juicer? Try my Smoothie for Lunch! You can  still have it for breakfast but the name was inspired by the veggie content 🙂

Do you have a favourite juice recipe you can share? 

How about a green smoothie?

Liz xo

8 thoughts on “On the Juice: Lessons Learned & Fave Recipes

    • I love your comments! Keep coming back 🙂 Hot yoga was good; pretty much the same as a normal day. I stick to 60 min classes and it’s not Bikram. It’s usually a hot flow or pose series depending on the instructor.

  1. Your “light” exercise schedule looks like my intense one! Lol! Bodystep and Attack = super intense! 🙂 Your juices look really good. Not sure I would do a juice cleanse but I do love drinking fresh juice as part of a healthy diet!

    • It does look a bit intense for this week, doesn’t it? But I took a lot of low options and didn’t push myself as hard as usual. No burpee tuck jumps this week 😉 lol And the juices are delicious! The cleanse thing isn’t for everyone but its awesome that you juice regularly. SO good for you!

  2. Pingback: My Juicing Journey: Your Questions Answered | Lizzie Fit

  3. Pingback: Currently in January | Lizzie Fit

Leave a Reply

