Homemade Raw Almond Butter

In the blogosphere, homemade nut butters are pretty much second hand nature. But in my real life, I’ll bet most of my friends & family have never tried making their own.

I only took my first stab at homemade almond butter a few months ago and the result was… well, let’s just not talk about that. My second batch was the success story ๐Ÿ˜‰

Oct 4 006

When I think homemade, I usually think a) cheaper or b) healthier, depending on the scenario at hand. In the case of food it’s almost always the two. In the case of homemade nut butters, it’s definitely the price!

I usually put out a few extra bucks to get the good stuff but I have my limits. I buy Mara Natha roasted almond butter because Costco carries the 737 g container for less than the price of the 340 g container at my local grocery store. Otherwise, I’d go for the raw stuff.

raw almond butter 2

But not everyone has access to Costco and wouldn’t we all love to have RAW almond butter at wholesale price? The good news is… you can have it for even less!

A did some research to find out how much I could save by making my almond butter at home. Here’s what I found:

  • 2 cups of almonds is equal to about 285 g
  • 2 cups of raw almonds yields about 260 g almond butter
  • raw almonds at Bulk Barn cost $8.15/lb ($0.018/g)
  • to yield 1 x 340 g jar of almond butter, you spend a whopping $6.62!*

IMG_1149

Compare this to the Loblaws price of $9.99 per 340 g jar. But wait… there’s more! Raw almonds are on sale at my local Bulk Barn right now for $5.70/lb. This works out to a cost ofย $4.63 for a 340 g jar. Yes, I’m serious.

IMG_1150

So without further adieu… let’s get started!

You only need 3 things to make a great batch of creamy, raw, delicious almond butter:

  1. Raw almonds
  2. Food processor
  3. Patience

Put your 2 cups of almond butter in the food processor and go. You will need to stop and scrape down the sides several times throughout the process. It was suggested to take a total of 15 minutes but it took me about 25. Maybe I’m slower at scraping the sides? And I like to taste test ๐Ÿ˜‰

After a few minutes it will look like a fluffy power… keep grinding…

IMG_1137

A little later it will start to clump up. You will really want to add some oil but don’t. You can, but it won’t be “raw” anymore, Patience!

IMG_1139

Eventually you will see it begin to cream. Don’t stop here. You still want it a little creamier than this…

IMG_1141

Around the 25 minute mark my nut butter was super creamy and warm. Omg warm nut butter ๐Ÿ˜€ You will likely reach this point earlier in the process if you don’t mess around as much as me but if it doesn’t look quite to your preference… just process a little longer.

IMG_1142

Transfer the deliciousness to a jar and enjoy anyway you would the store bought stuff. In fact, go crazy! This is practically an investment.

I’m off to the Bulk Barn before the almond sale is over ๐Ÿ˜‰

Have you tried making your own nut butter?

Liz xo

*Please note: a few changes were made to the original post… *cough* typos ๐Ÿ˜‰

6 thoughts on “Homemade Raw Almond Butter

  1. I would like to try it, but I don’t have a food processor.
    Soon… soon, I’m gonna have one, for sure! I put the link in my favorites ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

