Healthy Birthday Cupcake for One

Tomorrow I will be 25 years old; 1/4 of the way down my road to 100 but still with 3/4 of this amazing life ahead of me! I am looking forward to every minute of every year to follow.

IMG_1512

I’ve always envisioned my 25 year old self as this mythical character in a far away land. I could only imagine what she would be like and I secretly thought it would be much longer before I found her. Looking back at the past 25 years, my 24th year in particular, that idea has some truth to it (as weird as it sounds).

IMG_1507

So much has changed for me in the past year like graduating university, moving to a new city, starting my first job, and moving in with my boyfriend. I transitioned to a plant based diet, got fitter than I’ve ever been, and started this fun little blog 🙂

Deep down I’m still my same true self; I’ve just grown into version 25.0. But I have to say, I really like who she is and I am thankful for every moment and every person who shaped who I am today ❤

IMG_1510

Your birthday is a celebration… you have to relax and enjoy yourself a bit. I did just that on the weekend with some good friends, my favorite restaurant, red wine, & vegan cake 😉

With Canadian Thanksgiving this weekend, I know I’ll be indulging a little more than usual and likely extending the bday celebrations. Not wanting to throw my entire regime out the window, I needed a sweet treat to enjoy on Wednesday, my actual birthday. I’ve learned I can make healthy versions of pretty much any food and 9 times out of 10 if your treat is homemade vs. packaged, it’s a hundred times better for you.

IMG_1511

One of my all time favorite dessert blogs is Chocolate Covered Katie. She creates irresistible, healthy versions of any treat you can imagine and I knew she could help me in the cupcake department. Better yet, in the single serving department!

This cupcake was to die for. It was smothered in healthy chocolate frosting and just what I needed to satisfy my birthday sweet tooth without overdoing the week 🙂

IMG_1527

The following is adapted from Katie’s Single Lady Cupcake and her Healthy Chocolate Frosting.

Healthy Birthday Cupcake for One

Cupcake:

  • 3 tbsp oat flour
  • 1/16th tsp salt
  • 1/2 tbsp apple sauce
  • 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp almomd milk
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1.5 tbsp maple syrup

Preheat oven to 330 degrees. Mix the ingredients and pour into one space in an oiled/sprayed muffin pan. Bake for 13-14 minutes then let cool completely before frosting.

Alternatively, you can make this as a microwaved mug cake. I suggest 3-4 minutes on high but microwave times will vary.

Frosting:

  • 2 tbsp almond butter
  • 3 tsp maple syrup
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp almond milk
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla

Mix ingredients well and either a) spread atop cupcake or b) transfer to the corner of a plastic bag and snip the tip to make an amateur icing pipe. You will only use about half for the cupcake. I recommend eating the other half with your finger 😉

IMG_1523

Happy birthday to me! 😀

How do you celebrate your birthday?

Do you go all out for a week or do you try to maintain some limits? 

Liz xo

17 thoughts on “Healthy Birthday Cupcake for One

  1. Pingback: 8 Chocolatey Love Day Recipes <3 | Lizzie Fit

Leave a Reply

