Witchcraft for the Common Cold

Hey friends 🙂

How was your weekend? I actually had an entire weekend with no plans and loved it. The only commitment I made was for an arm balance workshop at Dynamic Fitness. I actually surprised myself a little on the mat 😉

photo 2

Ryan and I went to the farmer’s market for what may have been the last weekend for local harvest veggies…. and for leaves on the trees. Fall is still holding on but I can feel winter in the air.

photo 1

Our kitchen has been undergoing some mad renovations so this weekend was the first time we could cook at home in almost 2 weeks! I had a lot of cleaning and re-organizing to do but I enjoyed my new stove/oven thoroughly. We made homemade Pad Thai via Ashlee’s recipe and it was 100% boyfriend approved. He said it tasted just like take out only “healthier”.

I also prepped some other goodies for the week and we made our first batch of homemade sauerkraut! I’ve been wanting to get more into fermented foods and I figured this was the easiest place to start. Stay tuned for a Thursday sauerkraut update 😉

IMG_1675 IMG_1714IMG_1707 IMG_1667

Saturday night we brought out the apple cider from the market to make Occasions Magazine‘s drink of the season. I’m not a whiskey drinker but the Whiskey Warm Me Up is the perfect drink for getting cozy on a chilly night. It will definitely be making a reappearance this winter 😉

IMG_1678

The best part of the this weekend was that we both won the fight against the common cold!

I knew I hadn’t be looking out for my health as much as usual, especially without a kitchen. Last week was my wake up call to get prepared for cold season. I worked my finest magic and had us back in action by the weekend. Ryan has never recovered from a cold in just a few days. Actually, his last cold turned into pneumonia 😐

Quote of the weekend: “Your witchcraft is working!”.

I love it! I couldn’t wait to share some natural methods to get you through cold & flu season. Your body needs to be in a healthy state to prevent and fight off illness. Drugs are just a band-aid and your body is likely working harder to process the meds than to fight off the cold. Before reaching over the counter, try some of these holistic approaches first.

Witchcraft for the Common Cold

1. Juicing

If you’ve been following my blog for some time, you know I have a love affair with juicing. Drinking fresh raw juice provides your body with an abundance of vitamins, minerals and antioxidants in the most bioavailable form. It can help you recover more quickly and even reduce the severity of a cold. I also highly suggest fresh raw fruits and veggies in the form of salads or smoothies. I truly believe that our health is defined by what we put into our bodies.

IMG_1681

2. Avoiding meat & dairy

Yeah, yeah, I know… I follow a plant-based diet so of course I would say this, right? But it’s a fact! Meat and dairy are heavier foods that take longer to digest.  If your system is working harder to process these foods, it can’t expend as much energy fighting a virus. No matter what your dietary preference, avoiding these foods will help speed up the healing process.

3. Probiotics

It’s a good idea to make probiotics part of your daily routine. They help restore the healthy bacteria in your gut and improve digestive health. I am now taking a vegetarian probiotic supplement first thing every morning, about half an hour before eating.

Whole foods probiotics are even better than supplements; think sauerkraut, miso soup, kimchi. I also got my hands on some starter cultures to make my own water kefir (nerd alert!) 😀

Notice I did not recommend yogurt (see #2). Many store bought yogurts have a high sugar content. Sugar weakens your immune system and feeds bad bacteria which outweighs the benefit of the probiotics.

IMG_1734

4. Sleep

I think this one is a given. The more you rest the more your body can focus on healing. Your body does the most detoxification while sleeping and in the early hours of the morning. Aim for a minimum of 8 hours when you’re feeling under the weather and rest as much as you need throughout the day.

5. Sweat

This may sound counterintuitive after #4, but a short duration of light-moderate exercise always makes me feel better. Intense exercise will just make you more tired, but a walk on the treadmill can help you “sweat it out”. Not feeling up to anything? Spending some time in a sauna or steam room helps too.

chestsweat

6. Hot lemon water

First thing in the morning (after your probiotic) squeeze the juice of 1/4 lemon into a cup of hot water. Hot lemon water helps flush out toxins and does its best work on an empty stomach.

7. Hydrate

In addition to your hot lemon water, drink water, water, water and hot herbal teas. No caffeine please; it’s just another toxin your body needs to process.

Refrain from store bought juices! I know you think you need vitamin C stat, and you do, but you can get your C in a more bioavailable form via fresh juice (see #1) and produce. The sugar in these pasteurized juices will hurt your immune system more than the added vitamin C will help.

photo 2

9. Handwashing

How could I forget this?! I can still hear my mother’s voice in my head, “there’s a cold going around, make sure you wash your hands!”. Handwashing is one of the most effective ways to help prevent the spread of germs. Wash them after visiting the washroom, using a public computers/phones, sharing stationary at work/school, etc. etc. etc. You get it.

8. Herbs 

Some people swear by tincture of echinacea. I was skeptical at first but I wasn’t taking it regularly. Now I’m taking 1.5 mL of tincture in water after my probiotic daily. When I feel something coming on, I take it 2-3 times a day as directed by the label. I also had Ryan taking an herb blend designed to help sinus and allergies since he struggles with his sinuses on a good day.

Oil of oregano is also known to help during colds or allergy upsets. Its a strong anti-viral and anti-bacterial supplement. For more foods, herbs & spices that help fight colds, check out this awesome post by Samantha!

IMG_1688

“Let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food” – Hippocrates

What are your go-to methods to kick a cold fast? 

Are you a fan of any of the above? 

Liz xo

17 thoughts on “Witchcraft for the Common Cold

  1. I’ve recently been on a probiotic kick too!! We’ve been doing sauerkraut, but I have yet to make my own. We’ve also been eating plain coconut milk yogurt. Your comment about yogurt, however; is making me wonder about how helpful it is. Maybe I should look into making my own yogurt. Great post!! Celeste 🙂

    • I eat a lot of plain coconut yogurt too! Not so much for the probiotics as for a delicious treat. I think there can still be benefits but I would say homemade stuff would knock the store bought out kind of the park. If you make a recipe please share!:) Thanks Celeste!

  2. Awesome post, Liz! I have a terrible immune system but ever since I amped up my vitamins and fish oils, I’ve gone a lot longer without a cold (I actually got strep throat for 19-days back in July had to run a 10-mile race with it – Not ok.)

    Also, I bought a juicer 🙂 So excited! I’ve been wanting to do it for a while now it was time to stop talking, and start doing! Yayyy

    • Thanks Victoria! Strep throat is no joke. Lucky for me I’ve never had it but I’m glad you’re working to improve your immune system. I bet you’ll find a big difference with some regular juicing. Good for you for going for it 🙂

    • I LOVE THAT BOTTLE!!! But sad news… The inside got covered in mold that I couldn’t get off. I think its because I was drinking lemon water in it 😦 That, and it’s like 3 years old lol

      And juicing?! How excited am I to hear this?:D

      • So I made it! A few things I discovered:
        1. I’m still shocked how juice makes me get rid of that “OMGI’MTIREDALLTHETIME” feeling
        2. I can NOT juice a full day’s worth of pineapple without getting pulp in the last juices for the day 🙂 (yes I juiced them all at once. I was lazy haha)
        3. Watercress and parsley are no gos for me. Wicked heartburn
        4. I no longer need caffeine to wake up in the morning, but I do LOVE the taste/coziness of coffee!

        Also I went down a total of 6.2 lbs. Now the goal is to keep most of it off!

      • Wow, congratulations! Isn’t it amazing how much more energy you have? I got away from coffee in the morning too but still love it for a treat a couple days a week 😉

        I also get lazy sometimes and make 4 or 5 juices without dumping the pulp and end up with a weird pulpy drink haha. So happy to hear its working for you. I’m pretty confident you’ll keep it off an go even further! Good luck 😀

  3. I love your holistic approach for battling cold/flu season. I work in healthcare and I have to say, one of the most important things that people do not do to prevent illness is wash their hands. I can’t tell you how many people I see use the bathroom or sit down to eat without washing their hands. It is so gross and also one of the simplest ways to prevent the spread of germs. Okay, end rant.

    That said, keeping your immune system in great shape (naturally) is the most important thing you can do and these are all great ways to do that.

    • Yes! I couldn’t agree with you more. Hand washing is one preventative measure that I swear by but I guess I got caught up in the “holistic” approaches. I’m going to add it to the post 🙂

      Thanks you!

  4. Pingback: Persinnamon Heart Smoothie | Lizzie Fit

  5. Yes!! ECHINACEA is the BEST!! I don’t take it daily, but I start up a routine whenever people around me are sick or I feel like I may be starting to catch something! Most of the time I don’t get sick at all, or if I do, its not severe and goes away quickly!

    • Isn’t it like a miracle in a bottle? I started only taking it when I feel something coming on as well since I’ve been pretty immune-strong on a whole foods diet but when I need it, it works like charm!

Leave a Reply

