The BEST Vegan Pancakes

All the leaves are brown…..

And the sky is gray (and the sky is graaaay)…

BUT its November and that means we are officially into the holiday season! I know things can get a little depressing when the clocks go back and it gets dark so early… the temperature drops and the trees are almost naked… but think of all the exciting things we have to look forward to: family time, holiday parties, baking & crafts, parades, decorating, candy cane hot chocolate, eggnog, the first snowfall, fireplaces, Christmas music… need I go on?!

IMG_1685

I heard the first Christmas song on the radio this weekend and I am so ready for all of it 😀

BUT WAIT… first us Canadians need to observe and respect Remembrance Day on November 11th, so no official holiday posts until then. That also means no decorating or Michael Buble Christmas just yet. I just wanted to remind you all that daylight savings need not get you down this week:)

Some weekend eats:

The BEST butternut squash soup from Mind Body Green! It was my first attempt at homemade and I couldn’t believe how easy and delicious it was. Even the bf liked it who’s been swearing he doesn’t like bnut squash 😉

Nov 4 026

The first oats of the season inspired by the Kind Diet: pear, walnuts, maple syrup, dates & a splash of almond milk. Why have I not been adding dates to my oatmeal?! Wow!

Nov 1 007

My first homemade jar of water kefir. The process I followed required organic sugar & an organic dried date. After 48 hours I strained the water and drank it like a fizzy soda. Sooo weird to me how the grains multiplied. I started with 2 tbsp and look at what I had after just one batch! Clockwise, from top left = Initial, 24 hrs, 48 hrs, multiplied grains. 

Nov 1 003 Kefir Nov 2Kefir Nov 4 Kefir Nov 4 (2)

And last but not least, pancakes; one of my favourite things about Sunday mornings at home! I’ve had so many failed attempts at different pancake recipes when looking for the perfect healthy option. There’s a delicate balance between flours, binders, protein powders, stove temperature, pan type, etc. etc… I could never make 2 batches the same.

Since I stumbled upon these spelt & vanilla vegan pancakes by the Alakline Sisters I haven’t looked back. These cakes turn turn out perfect every time. I use Stevia in the batter instead of maple syrup (save that for topping!) & add a few chocolate chips. Ryan says they taste like cookies 🙂

Nov 4 019

Just make sure to follow the steps exactly for a quick, healthy addition to your Sunday morning or even your holiday brunch menu!

Spelt & Vanilla Vegan Pancakes

Adapted from the Alkaline Sisters
Serves: 2-3
Prep time: 8 min
Total time: 15 min

Nov 4 017

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup spelt flour
  • 2 tbsp baking powder
  • pinch of sea salt
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 3-4 drops stevia
  • 2 tbsp grape seed oil
  • 1.5 tsp vanilla
  • handful chocolate chips
  • coconut oil for the pan

Directions:

  1. Combine dry and wet ingredients separately, then mix together. Let sit for ~5 min to let the batter rise.
  2. Heat coconut oil in a pan on medium-high heat. Make sure the pan gets nice and hot so the cakes get crispy on the outside.
  3. I suggest gently stirring the batter before spooning into the pan or the cakes will fall apart in the pan. Spoon 3 small pancakes into the pan so they are easy to flip.
  4. Add a few chocolate chips to each pancake then cook 2-3 min or until underside is golden. Flip and cook on opposite for another 2-3 min.
  5. Serve with pure maple syrup or topping of choice!

What’s your favourite pancake recipe? Why not link em up? 🙂 

Liz xo

5 thoughts on “The BEST Vegan Pancakes

  1. Pingback: Fit Friday: Slim Sanity | Lizzie Fit

Leave a Reply

