Fit Friday: Slim Sanity

Welcome to your November long weekend ❤

While you’re enjoying an extra day off I hope you keep our veterans in mind. Wear a poppy, attend a service, and take a moment of silence to remember those who fought for our freedom. We are SO lucky to live in a country as beautiful as this with everything we need to live happy, healthy lives.

cupcakes Source

We have some special visitors staying with us for the weekend! My mom and Ryan’s mom are both here until Tuesday. I already have menu requests for the spelt & vanilla pancakes AND the butternut squash soup. I love cooking plant-based meals for non-veggies, especially when I know they’re going to love it. I’ll also be making some banana bread and other healthy treats to have around the house.

I thought I’d do a little something different for this week’s Fit Friday post. I love sharing my favourite workout moves and my own routines, but I’d also like to share a little more of what (or who) inspires me to stay fit. Most of the time my main sources of fitspiration are of from fitness blogs. Starting today, I’d like to feature a favourite fit blogger once a month.

Fit Friday: Slim Sanity

Currently, my phone’s photo album is filled with screenshots of workouts from the amazing Alysia at Slim Sanity. I found her via Instagram and have been making my way through her workouts over the past couple of months.

slim sanity

Her workout structures are easy to follow (but not easy!) and she often includes You Tube links to the fitness moves in case you are unsure of how to perform them. I like how she mixes things up from the standard weighted sets like in this chest & abs workout.

chest and abs

I also love that some of these moves work your chest  core at the same time like the flys with leg raises. Killer!

Most of the routines are available on a graphic that you can save, screenshot or even print off and take to the gym. If you have weights at home, you can even bust out most of these right in your living room! This shoulder & bicep burner requires no additional equipment. I do the entire thing with a set of 10’s and a set of 12’s.

sculpted shoulders and biceps

I also love this arrangement of 3 superset groups for a leg workout vs. the conventional 3 sets of each move throughout. It keeps you on your toes (literally) and before you know it you’re done!

lower body supersets 3

You can find more strength routines from Alysia on her workout page including target area and full body workouts, along with circuit and treadmill cardio routines.

I also suggest giving a workout more than one chance. I always get a better workout the second or third time I try it because I’m familiar with the moves and have a better idea of my weight and rep requirements.

Today I plan on doing her Full Body Strength routine for the first time with this sweaty Speed Burst Treadmill Workout.

521433_277922562304417_130916402_n

Now there’s no excuse to skip your Fit Friday. Slim Sanity is an amazing resource with fitspiration for days!

Thanks to Alysia for letting me feature her today. When I’m truly inspired by someone or something I can’t help but to share it. That’s why I started this blog: to inspire and be inspired! I want everyone to know that the resources they need to get started (or stay motivated) on their wellness journey are right at their fingertips.

You can also connect with Alysia via Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, & Twitter!

Where do you get your fitspiration?

What are your favourite fitness blogs? 

Liz xo

6 thoughts on “Fit Friday: Slim Sanity

Leave a Reply

