Warm Spinach & Apple Salad in Maple Balsamic Vinaigrette

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas….

IMG_2003 IMG_2000

I said I was only going to take out a few things. It turns out I really only have a few things besides the tree so I just went all out and finished the job.

IMG_1994 IMG_1987

I’m sooo happy I did because now it’s starting to feel like the holidays in here 🙂 Not to mention it smells like peppermint mocha Mmmm. The season comes and goes so fast so I like to enjoy it as much as possible.

We had a pretty relaxing weekend. Friday night we met some friends at our favourite Thai restaurant in Saint John. I learned my favourite curry is actually the only vegan-friendly dish on the menu. Win! Saturday I hit up my favourite morning BodyStep class & spent the rest of day out & about with my guy. I also spent some time in the kitchen, of course, making these protein bars for the week, sweet potato hummus (recipe to come) and Oh She Glow’s lightened up granola! I will warn you… this granola is addictive. Do not leave it sitting on your counter.

Nov 18 042

I also made an old favourite for a Saturday afternoon lunch. Years ago my mom introduced me to this warm spinach & apple salad but I can’t remember exactly how the recipe goes. I knew there was no way she’d remember (sorry mom!) so I just winged it.

IMG_1879 IMG_1878

It turned out exactly how I remembered: sweet, rich, & the perfect way to get your greens on a cool winter’s day. Before you get started, know you can alter the ratios of vinegar to oil to sweetener to suit your taste. I don’t like my dressing too “vinegar-y” so I went with 1:1 oil to vinegar. I also thought 2 tbsp of maple syrup was better than one.

Warm Spinach & Apple Salad with Maple Balsamic Vinaigrette

Serves 4

IMG_1892

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups spinach
  • 2 medium apples, sliced
  • 2 cups mushrooms, sliced
  • 1/4 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/4 cup pecans (toasted if desired)

For the dressing:

  • 2 tbsp pure maple syrup
  • 2 tbsp balsamic vinaigrette
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 tsp dijon mustard
  • salt & pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Whisk all dressing ingredients together in a small bowl.
  2. Heat dressing in a large pan on low-medium heat.
  3. Add sliced apples and cook 3-4 min, until starting to soften. Add sliced mushrooms and cook another few min until also soft.
  4. Place spinach on plates and top with the apples & mushrooms, drizzling any remaining dressing over the greens.
  5. Top with cranberries & pecans and enjoy!

IMG_1891

Has anyone else tried cooking with these ceramic non-stick pans?! Oh my gawwwd. They’re like a dream. I got this one for $30 at Stokes and I am definitely going back for a smaller one. You could cook without oil but things like veggies get a little dried out. Nothing sticks. No need to scrape. You can rinse it after cooking and it’s like you didn’t even use it.

Move over boyfriend, I have a new love of my life!

IMG_1876

So, do you enjoy warm salads?

Have you tried  cooking with a ceramic pan?

Liz xo

10 thoughts on “Warm Spinach & Apple Salad in Maple Balsamic Vinaigrette

  1. Yum! Winter is fast approaching and a warm salad is what everyone needs. Love the combo of balsamic and apple, I would have never thought to put those two together. This salad is going on my “must make!” list.

Leave a Reply

