Fit Friday: Stability Ball Jack Knife

Christmas came early at our house!

IMG_2055 IMG_2057

As much as I love the gym and group-ex classes, sometimes I just like to do my own thing at home. I am especially looking forward to having the weights during the winter months when the last thing I want to do is drive to the gym on a snow day.

I am so super excited about the stability ball because I’ve been wanting to share my favourite fitness moves with the ball for a while now.  I also have some killer core workouts in mind. Stay tuned 😉

Some other recent news:

  • The blog has a Facebook page! This was the last form of social media to connect with the blog. I thought I would like to share my posts through my personal Timeline but I decided I’d prefer to keep them separate. This will allow me to better connect with the blogging community and my FB friends can choose whether or not to follow the page.
  • The polls are now open to VOTE for your favourite VVP Nov 2013 recipes!! If you were a fan of my Spinach & Artichoke Dip, please take a minute to vote for it for best appetizer and I could win one of eight vegan cookbooks. Click HERE to vote now. There is also a Pinterest contest where the recipe with the most re-pins wins $125 in NuNaturals products! You have to re-pin from the VVP November 2013 Pinterest Board. You can re-pin my recipe HERE 🙂

IMG_1829

Now on to some fitness! I love this move because it works almost your entire body: shoulders, arms, upper & lower back, full core, legs… you get the picture. I’ve you’ve been following my posts for a while you know I love multi-tasking moves.

Fit Friday: Stability Ball Jack Knife

AKA: Swiss, Stability, or Exercise Ball Jack Knife or Leg Tuck
Weight/Equipment: Stability Ball
Reps: 3 sets of 15-20

Method:

Get into a high plank position, hands directly under shoulders, with the tops of your ankles flat on the stability ball. You don’t want to be on your toes or your shins.

Nov 18 001

Engage your core and bring your knees into your chest, rolling your feet across the ball. Now you want to be on your toes. Avoid rounding your back since this takes the work out of your core.

Nov 18 002

Return to starting position by rolling your feet over the ball in the opposite direction.

At all times, keep your core and shoulders engaged and your back flat. Repeat 15-20 times as part of a circuit or complete 3 sets during your workout.

For more Fit Friday moves & workouts check out the Fitness Page!

Also, don’t forget to check out the FB page after you VOTE & Pin 🙂

Liz xo

10 thoughts on “Fit Friday: Stability Ball Jack Knife

  1. That’s a nice little home gym set-up you have there! I love the stability ball and really should use it more often. That move you’re doing looks TOUGH! I am definitely going to give it a try here soon.

  2. I’ve always loved that exercise for my lower abs…really basically any workout with an exercise ball is really doable. It’s only when I have to do it the old fashion way with no ball I’ll dread doing abs, unless they’re a superman/toe touch combo 🙂

    xx
    Rakhi

  3. Pingback: Fit Friday: Stability Ball Mountain Climbers + A Giveaway! | Lizzie Fit

  4. Pingback: Fit Friday: Stability Ball Plank Circles | Lizzie Fit

Leave a Reply

