Spicy Sweet Potato Tofu Stew

Hey friends 🙂

Welcome to December! If you’ve been following my blog you know I’ve been super excited about the Holidays since early November. Now I can officially go crazy without judgement.

photo 5

Over the weekend we picked out our very first Christmas tree, and my first real tree in maybe 15 years or more. It smells amazing and fits perfectly in our apartment. It was so much fun decorating with Ryan this year and putting together our childhood ornaments. Though it’s our 4th Christmas as a couple, its of our first year living together 🙂

Dec 2 002

A couple of drinks were in order since it was a special occasion and I even treated myself to some of this unbelievable Fit Popocorn – 37 calories per cup?? I’m in! No Cheats “November” is still on until December 15 but tree-decorating called for a bit of flexibility 😉

photo 3

This past weekend was also the Fredericton Christmas tree lighting at City Hall and the Santa Clause parade which totally blew me away. There was lots of my healthier candy cane hot chocolate on the stove top and I didn’t think about a sugary latte even once!

photo 1 photo 2

Today I have my favourite slow cooker stew recipe to share with you guys. The slow cooker is the ultimate solution to “I don’t have time to cook”. A little washing and chopping and you’re armed with healthy meals for days.

This stew is the perfect addition to your weekly meal plan during the busy holiday season; feed the whole family (maybe more than once) or freeze leftovers to give yourself a night off here & there.

IMG_2068

Tofu might sound like an odd addition to a stew, but it takes on the flavours of the veggies & spices and gets unbelievably tender & tasty in the slow cooker. I have to give Ryan some of the credit for this one since it was his idea to add the tofu which is the BEST part! I could eat this every single day.

The ingredient quantities are a little vague because you can pretty much throw in as much as you want as long as it all fits in the crock. The number of servings and calorie content will vary based on ingredient amounts.

*** Warning: Put leftovers in the fridge immediately to avoid constant snacking from the Crockpot 😉 

Spicy Sweet Potato Tofu Stew

Yield: 7 quarts
Servings: 6-7 large bowls
Calories: ~290 in one sixth

IMG_2085

Ingredients:

  • 1 block tofu, pressed at least 1 hr
  • 2 medium sweet potatoes
  • 3 small white potatoes
  • 3 large carrots
  • 2 medium zucchini
  • 1/2 medium onion
  • 1 can fire roasted tomatoes
  • 1 can black beans, drained & rinsed
  • 1.5 cartons veggie broth
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 2 tsp paprika
  • 2 tsp chili powder
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 tsp chili flakes (optional)
  • salt & pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Press tofu for at least 1 hour to extract water then cut into 1″ cubes. To press, I wrap it in a dish towel and place a large pot filled with cans on top.
  2. Peel (except zucchini) & chop veggies.
  3. Add veggies, tomatoes, tofu, beans, & spices* to the crock.
  4. Mix up the ingredients then pour in the veggie broth until just covered (takes about 1.5 cartons)
  5. Cook for 6-8 hours on low. I let it go for about 7 hours to make sure the carrots were soft since they take the longest.

*You may not like your stew as spicy as me. If that’s the case, try adding half the spices then tasting part way through and adding more if desired.

Stew

I love how the beans & tomatoes get caught up in the zucchini… Mmm…

Hope you love it as much as I do!

Liz xo

12 thoughts on “Spicy Sweet Potato Tofu Stew

    • I was a little hesitant at first but I promise you’ll love it! You might need to make a second pot for the hubs though 😉

      And that’s so crappy you’re allergic to real trees! On the bright side you’ll be spared a lot of mess lol

  1. Pingback: Peppermint Mocha Smoothie | Lizzie Fit

  2. Pingback: Winter Staycation + Traditional Stew | Lizzie Fit

Leave a Reply

