Slow Cooker Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

No need to dream of a white Christmas…

IMG_2208Β IMG_2211

And by the looks of the upcoming temperatures its not going anywhere for a while!

I’m feeling totally festive with the snow down & the presents all wrapped. I had the best weekend with Ryan, finishing our shopping & driving around looking at Christmas lights. Sunday we were snowed in and I think we listened to every Christmas song ever written and wrapped gifts until I ran out of paper! It’s so nice having him with me this season πŸ™‚

IMG_2201

If you live in the Fredericton area you HAVE to check out the Lincoln Light Show! It’s a sweet light display synced to music that you can tune your radio station to. The owners stand outside in the evenings for the 2 weeks before Christmas and collect donations for the Make-A-Wish Foundation. They raised more than $29,000 over the last three years, including $13,000 last year alone (source).

lincoln light show 2Β lincoln light show 1

Pretty amazing πŸ™‚

In the food department, my go-to breakfast lately has been oats… but not just any oats! I thought I’d eaten oats in every way, shape or form one could possible eat oats. I was wrong… oh, so wrong. There is nothing like steel cut oats in the slow cooker with apples & cinnamon.

I’ve heard tell of this slow cooker oatmeal for a long time before I gave it a shot. I just thought, why bother when its so quick to make my quick oats in the morning?

IMG_2163

Why bother?! Because these oats taste AMAZING and actually, they ARE much quicker in the mornings. You need about 10 minutes to prepare on a given evening, then you’ve got instant breakfast for 6 mornings or the next day for the whole family.

I have to thank my friend Jenna for sharing this recipe with me from Weight Watchers. I searched everywhere online for the recipe to link up WW but couldn’t find the version she gave me. So, today is your lucky day! From me to you, slightly adapted: the quickest, most delicious oats you can imagine. Merry Christmas πŸ˜‰

Slow Cooker Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Adapted from Weight WatchersΒ 

Serves: Makes 6 x 3/4 cup servings
Calories: ~215 per serving
Prep time: 10 min
Total time: 4 hrs

IMG_2160

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup steel cut oats
  • 3 apples
  • 4 cups water
  • 1.5 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup raisins (or other dried fruit)
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup

Directions:

  1. Peel & chop apples into half inch pieces.
  2. Add oats, apples, oats, water, cinnamon & raisins to slow cooker.
  3. Cook on low for 4-6 hours, depending on how creamy you like your oats*.
  4. When finished cooking, stir in almond milk and maple syrup.

Transfer finished product to an air-tight container and pop a serving in the microwave or warm on the stove each morning for a quick breakfast. I also like to add in a little extra almond milk with each serving πŸ™‚

*I cooked my first batch for 5 hours and my second for 4. Both were good but I preferred the texture of the 4-hour batch.

Enjoy!

Liz xo

13 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

  1. The snow is so pretty! I would love for it to snow here, if only for one day. The light show looked so nice and I love that they raise money for such a good cause with it.

    Steel cut oats are my favorite but I don’t eat them as often because they take so long to cook. Preparing them in a slow cooker is a brilliant idea! They look perfect for that snowy weather.

    • Its been snowing here everyday; its getting kind of ridiculous! Its beautiful now but I’ll trade it for your Cali weather after January 1 πŸ˜‰

      I have the same feelings towards steel cut oats. I never bothered with them because of the time but the crockpot makes it a cinch!

  2. Merry “White” Christmas to you!! Here in SoCal there’s no snow. There’s still a chill in the air which is all I need to get into the Christmas spirit. I want to wish you a very happy holiday season and take a moment to tell you how much I’ve enjoyed following your blog for the past few months. Your blog really rocks! Celeste πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

