Holiday Recipe Round-Up

Happy Holidays 🙂

As much as I enjoy sharing my own healthy recipes, I love sharing recipes from other bloggers that inspire me. Even before having a blog of my own, I loved recreating recipes & sharing my favourites with friends via email, pen & paper, or Facebook.

Here’s a list of must-try recipes I’ve been pinning & printing over the holiday season.

Holiday Food Collage

1. “Christmas Tree” Veggie Plate with Hummus from Better Recipes

What an easy, healthy option to have for guests to snack on before dinner. I love creamy dips & bite sized h’ors doeuvres but its nice to have some lighter fare to avoid filling up before the meal.

vegan

2. Holiday Meatless Loaf by Fat-Free Vegan Kitchen

This is one I plan on making for Christmas dinner. I love a plate full of delicious sides but am looking forward to having a special dish to look forward to when everyone else is swooning over the turkey.

meatloaf1

3. Dad’s Vegan Wild Rice, Cranberry, & Pine Nut Stuffing (Gluten-Free Option) by Vedged Out

Stuffing has always been my favourite part of holiday dinner (followed by sweet potatoes, cranberry sauce & dessert of course). I’ve always been a fan of stove top but since I’ve become much more health conscious over the past year, I’m digging the homemade fare.

dads-stuffing

4. Peppermint Hot Chocolate Bites by The Hummusapien

I needed a quick snack to take on the road for work and I wanted a change from my usual protein bar recipes. This popped up on my Facebook one day and I was sold. Festive and healthy? Count me in!

IMG_2184

5. Gingerbread Amazeballs by The Fitnessista

I have always loved Gina’s Amazeballs, especially the original chocolate chip, so I was super excited when she posted a holiday version. Usually these are rolled into balls, hence the name, but I love the cookie cutting option 🙂

gingerbread-amazeballs-1-of-1-2

6. Gingerbread Breakfast Cookie by Clean Eating Veggie Girl

A quick, easy & delicious way to wake up. Make this festive oatmeal cookie the night before to save some time in your busy day of shopping, wrapping & socializing 😉

gingerbread-breakfast-cookie-41

7. Peanut “Better” Balls by Oh She Glows

Wow… wordless. I made these for our Christmas Eve treat to snack on with our egg(less) nog & holiday movies. I made a batch a week in advance and froze them…. then I made a second batch, if you know what I’m sayin 😉

IMG_2214

8. Chocolate Peppermint Bark by Vegan in the Freezer

I saw so many boxes of peppermint bark in the stores this season and could only wish for a vegan version. Here is the answer to my prayers! I’d like try some different modifications with nuts & dried fruit too.

Chocolate-Peppermint-Bark-Feature-Word

9. Pomegranate Spritzers by Making Thyme for Health

I love cocktails in fancy glasses with garnish (Appletini, mom?) but I don’t love the excess sugar & calories. This year I’ll be filling our martini glasses with this light cranberry cocktail to cheers guilt-free 😉

Pomegranate-Spritzers-2

10. Vegan Eggless Nog by Liber Abyss

This is a quick & easy alternative to the smoothie versions I’ve been seeing, like mine, which require blending fruit or nuts. I’m sure it would be just as delicious with almond milk & rum substitutions.

egglessnog

11. Nicer Krispie Squares by Dreena Burton 

Every year at our Christmas cookie bake, there is a huge demand for rice krispie squares. These were never my favourite but I do aim to please so I have this recipe bookmarked in my Eat, Drink & Be Vegan cookbook. I think it might be a little too pricey for mass producing on cookie day but I will be keeping them in mind 😉

nicerkrispiesquares

For more vegan treat love, check out Dreena Burton’s post, The 12 Cookie of Christmas. I also recommend this 2013 Vegan Holiday Recipe Roundup from Choosing Raw.

What holiday recipes caught your attention season?

Do you contribute a healthier option to dinners & parties?

Liz xo

15 thoughts on “Holiday Recipe Round-Up

  1. This round up has me drooling all over the place! I’ve had my eye on those better balls for a while, so I’m happy to know that they taste as incredible as they sound! Thanks so much for sharing the peppermint bites 🙂 Happy holidays!

Leave a Reply

