Jump Start January

Cheers to 2014!

NYE Ryan and Elyse

I love the holidays but I’m always ready to get back to my routine afterwards; especially clean eating and regular exercise.

I’ve teamed up with the lovely Georgia from Georgia’s Trying Something New to commit to 30 days of movement in January to start the year off right.

jump-start january 2

Join us for Jump-Start January and do something to get your body moving every day for the next 30 days. “Moving” can mean anything from a challenging HIIT workout to doing 10 push-ups between laundry loads.

This challenge is not about weight loss, but about the many benefits of physical movement on a daily basis. Take it outside for a walk or run, grab a friend and try a new group-ex class or dust off your at-home cardio equipment. If you can’t get out of the house, try some of these no-excuse options to fit in a few minutes of movement at home:

  • 10 second up to 3 minute plank
  • 10 up to 100 burpees or push-ups throughout the day
  • 50 jumping jacks
  • 50 high knee runs
  • 30 bodyweight squats
  • 20 switch lunges

Check out my post on how to Fit More Fitness Into Your Day for more ways to get active without working out. Also, take a look at Boost Your Burn for tips on how to get the most out of your workout.

IMG_2337

We will be posting about our progress over the next few weeks and encourage you to check in with us by commenting on our posts and using the hashtag #jumpstartjanuary on Instagram & Twitter.

I’ll be taking part in a 30-day hot yoga challenge with Georgia; one of my 2014 resolutions. Nothing like starting the year off with a bang 😉

IMG_3728

So, how will you be starting 2014 off on the right foot?

Liz xo

 

 

13 thoughts on “Jump Start January

  1. That’s a great set of challenges – I miss hot yoga so much (well, and I miss the word hot in general… 🙂 and I definitely need to get moving every day! My goal (other than going sugar-free) is to do active recovery on at least one of my rest days instead of just sitting immobile on the couch all day long!

    • Reducing sugar intake is a big one on my list too, and cutting refined sugar completely!

      I think active recovery on rest day makes a big difference. Even if it’s just a short walk. It’s nice to do something active and fun 🙂

  2. Awesome post, Liz!
    And I’m totally jumping on this train, too. It’s a really good way to get the new year started!

    Also, St. John’s has a new juice bar that I tried today. I had a ‘green juice’ which consisted of kale, parsley, beet and apple! It was reeeaaally tastie ($9.99 for 20-oz) but honestly, not as good as the homemade turbo juice 😉 I think the key ingredient that gets me with juice, is lime! Holy Yum!! 🙂

    Thanks again for getting me on the juicing train & Happy New Year!

    • Hey Girl! Welcome aboard 😉 I am feeling really good about starting the new year off right!

      Jealous of your juice bar but that is pretty pricey right?! Can you get any less than 20 oz? We have a Booster Juice in Fredericton which is pretty good and a little better priced but most are heavy on the fruit!

      So happy to hear you’re still enjoying juicing. I couldn’t be prouder to be the one who sparked your interest 😀

  3. Pingback: Detox & Yoga | Lizzie Fit

  4. Pingback: #JumpstartJanuary Detox Smoothie | Lizzie Fit

  5. Pingback: Yoga, Beer & Balance | Lizzie Fit

Leave a Reply

