Buffalo Cauliflower “Wings”

Ok, ok, ok…

So I was going to wait until next week to share this recipe but I just can’t stand the wait! I am far too excited! Even though these things are all over Pinterest I’ve been asked about my recipe several times since sharing the photos on Instagram & Twitter.

I have to give Ryan 100% of the credit for this one. He suggested making them earlier this week after seeing a picture and I was all like, “ahhh, naww, I won’t like that”. I told him to go ahead and make them but I’d be making something else as well.

photo (5)

I don’t particularly like buffalo sauce. When I was still eating meat I would order a buffalo chicken sandwich with hot sauce instead of buffalo sauce. I never liked any kind of chicken wings and I was not a fan of buffalo chicken pizza. Needless to say, I was not going to care for buffalo cauliflower. Right?

ERRR- Wrong!

This is definitely one of the more simplified versions I’ve seen. The flour-water mixture gives it a “breaded” texture that sort of mimics chicken wings – hence Ryan’s interest. He looked at a few recipes online then just winged it (no pun intended) to get the taste & consistency he wanted. I’m impressed.

cauliflower 2

Buffalo Cauliflower “Wings”

Makes enough sauce for 2 heads of cauliflower. Option to reserve half the sauce and bake the second head at a later time.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups spelt flour (whole wheat works too!)
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2/3 cup buffalo sauce
  • 2 heads of cauliflower

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 450 F
  2. Combine flour, water, oil and about 1/3 cup buffalo sauce in a large bowl.
  3. Toss cauliflower florets until evenly coated.
  4. Spread onto a lightly greased (or parchment lined) baking sheets and bake 7 min.
  5. Remove from oven then toss cauliflower in an additional 1/4-1/3 cup buffalo sauce (each head) depending on taste preference.
  6. Return to baking sheet and bake another 5 min.

photo 4

You can eat these as a snack, an appetizer, a dinner side, or in the form of the many foods you may have never liked… for example:

Buffalo cauliflower pizza (portobello-pizza style)…

photo 3

Or buffalo cauliflower sandwiches or pitas…

photo 4

I can’t wait to make these for friends this Friday!!!

Have you ever surprised yourself  with a food you thought you wouldn’t like?

Have you tried buffalo cauliflower?

Liz xo

28 thoughts on “Buffalo Cauliflower “Wings”

    • The cauliflower gets really soft and the sauce totally masks the “cauliflowery” taste. If you wanted to try it I would suggest regular hot sauce. But this one might not your cup of tea 😉 lol

    • I actually Googled your site for a similar recipe! I thought for sure you’d have tried it. Let me know if you make them and what you think 🙂 So crazy good on pitas!

  1. Great minds think alike! I literally made cauliflower wings recently too – but won’t get my post up till this weekend. (darn day job) The recipes are slightly different but I bet yours is just as delicious! I might have to try it out just as an excuse to make them again. 🙂

    • Ah, yes, great minds 😉 I’m looking forward to seeing your recipe! My day job totally cramps my blogging style too… the worst part is I rarely get pics in the daylight these days!

  2. I love buffalo cauliflower! It goes great with a black bean burger. I have never added in spelt flour or oil though which I bet gives it a great texture and taste. I’ll have to remember that!

  3. Pingback: Black Is The New Brown {Rice} | Lizzie Fit

  4. Pingback: Vegan Super Bowl Snacks: Three Recipes | watch hatch fly

  5. Pingback: Vegan “Blue Cheese” Dressing (Dip) | watch hatch fly

  6. Pingback: WIAW: The Lunchbox Edition | Lizzie Fit

Leave a Reply

