Black Is The New Brown {Rice}

Hey friends 🙂

How’s your week going so far? Have you done something to get moving today? How about yesterday?

As part of our #JumpstartJanuary challenge, Georgia and I got together last night for a Hatha Yoga class from our friend Rachel at the YMCA. Afterwards, we met up with Kaylee and took over one of the private workout rooms to totally kick each others butts with a quick circuit.

IMG_3832

Georgia says that’s a fake smile because I made her do burpees… muahaha >:)

As much as I am loving my 30 day yoga challenge, I still want to keep up with my weight-training and HIIT. Yes hot yoga is challenging and yes I’ve been sore pretty much everyday but I don’t want to lose what I’ve gained at the gym.

IMG_3815

The purpose of JSJ is not to workout everyday, its to do something to MOVE everyday. The longer you sit, the slower your metabolism, even if you exercise later! The Lean Green Bean posted an amazing list of mini-routines to “Move for 5” this week. Brittany @ My Own Balance is also posting tips to help you #JumpstartJanuary all month long!

Now onto some foodie fun…

Food for Life recently contacted me and asked if I was interested in reviewing their new Black Rice Tortillas. I jumped at the opportunity since this is my first food product review on the blog! I love Food for Life’s products, especially their Ezekial bread and brown rice tortillas.

IMG_2416

The black rice tortillas are vegan, gluten-free, and yeast-free but what really sparked my interest was in the product details on their website:

“Many don’t know this, but black rice rivals and often exceeds some of the most notable antioxidant rich foods. Plus it’s loaded with natural fiber – A great healthy alternative to traditional wheat flour tortillas.” 

IMG_2417

Since we made two batches of Buffalo Cauliflower last weekend (yes, I have an addiction), Ryan suggested I make buffalo cauliflower wraps with the tortillas. Perfect.

I topped the tortillas with sauteed red pepper & onion, lettuce, cherry tomatoes, and buffalo cauliflower. I enjoyed one wrap with a side salad for dinner and packed the other for the next day’s lunch!

IMG_2421

So what did I think?

Well… I really, really love the brown rice tortillas. I enjoyed the black rice version but I didn’t love them quite as much. The texture was a little tough but this could be due to thawing then re-freezing during transit time. They were, however, very malleable and didn’t crack or break when rolling into wraps. Sometimes this happens with gluten-free tortillas and it always happens with whole wheat pitas, grrr!

IMG_2424

I had a feeling that I might enjoys these most as baked pitas triangles as a side or an appetizer, dipped in salsa or hummus. We had my all-time favourite Mexican Lettuce Wraps for a quick dinner on Thursday night so I baked up a few pitas for a side. I loved them like this!

Overall, it was nice to try something different than my usual Ezekial  or brown rice fare but I think I still prefer brown to black rice.

IMG_2428

So is black the new brown rice? I’d say it depends on the person. This chick will probably be sticking to the original 😉

Big thanks to Food for Life for the opportunity to review their product! If you have any questions about any of their products you can check out foodforlife.com or contact them for more information.

Are you a fan of Food for Life products?

Have you tried the new Black Rice Tortillas?

Liz xo

*Food for Life supplied me with tortillas but I was not compensated for my time. All thoughts and opinions are my own*

10 thoughts on “Black Is The New Brown {Rice}

  1. I’ve never even tried black rice much less black rice tortillas – maybe I will start with the rice first.
    And I agree – every day should have at least some movement!!!

Leave a Reply

