Sweet Potato Hummus

It’s been a foodie kinda weekend over here… 

Ryan requested some healthy muffins for a quick weekday breakfast so I whipped up some Pumpkin Quinoa Muffins {vegan-style) on Friday. These did not last for weekday morning breakfasts as planned…

IMG_2488

So I whipped up another batch, this time Zucchini Spelt muffins from Eat, Drink & Be Vegan. Another total win in the kitchen. Notice how I throw “whipped up” around like it was a total cinch and I did it in high heels while doing laundry and dancing backwards…?

Cuz that’s exactly how it was… come on, don’t you believe me? 😉

But honestly, it is pretty simple to make your own muffins, snacks, and meals at home. It’s much cheaper, healthier and tastier too! I take the time each weekend to plan the upcoming week’s meals, prep a few things in advance and have enough groceries on hand to last until at least Thursday.

In case you’re interested, some other Lizzie approved recipes of the week:

IMG_2484

Speaking of DIY…

A few weeks ago I made my first attempt at homemade hummus. I could have just tried regular, ol garlicky hummus but I’ve had this recipe lingering around from an old Women’s Health magazine since way before the blog. I finally decided to go for it, and guess what…

Nov 18 031

It rocked! So light and creamy, unlike a lot of the store bought hummus. Not to mention, I’ve never seen sweet potato hummus in a store. Original 😉

I took it in my lunch every day to eat with veggies, spread it on sandwiches, snacked with tortilla chips, and then some. The only downside (but more of an upside) is that this recipe made a huge batch so it went bad before I could eat it all.

Nov 18 036

I recommend having plans to eat a lot of hummus over the next couple of weeks before getting out your food processor. This would make a good party dish too, mainly for the reasons above: 1. huge batch, 2. original!

Sweet Potato Hummus

Ingredients:

  • 1 large sweet potato*, peeled and cubed
  • 1 cup chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1/4 cup tahini
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp unrefined brown sugar (I used Sucanat)
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh sage
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Steam sweet potato until tender.
  2. Add all ingredients to a food processor and process until creamy.
  3. Store in an air-tight container and refrigerate. Mine lasted a little over 2 weeks.

Nov 18 035

*Note: The original recipe called for 1 lb of sweet potato but I thought it was a bit too much. I preferred the taste and texture with just 1 large SP.

Sweet!

Liz xo

10 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Hummus

Leave a Reply

