There’s More to Fitness Than Muscles

Hello lovely friends 🙂

How are you all this week? I am finally recovered from Ryan’s birthday {week} celebrations. Does any one else believe in Birthday Week? One day just isn’t enough…. lol

photo 2

On Thursday we went back to Brewbaker’s, a favourite for special occasions. I was going to try their other vegan option, a couscous salad, but I couldn’t help myself and cracked for the Thai Vermicelli again… insert foodgasm face :0

Saturday night we had friends over for food, drinks & games and I wanted to do something to make Ryan’s bday more special that any ol’ Saturday night. I organized for group party shirts: “Out for a Birthday Swim”. Get it?

He was equally as surprised as embarrassed but I’m pretty sure he loved it 😉

photo 3

Today I’m talking about something that’s been a frequent conversation over the years: why I value fitness so much. Not just for myself, but for the people in my life as well.

We all know the main reasons why physical fitness is important: decreased risk of disease, reduced risk of injuries, feeling better mentally and physically, etc. But in addition to that, I am very attracted to a fitness-focused person and it’s not just because that type of person is physically attractive. Yes, a lean, toned body is definitely a plus, but there is so much more to it than that.

So what else do I see beyond the physical?

First let’s take a look at the definition of fitness. According to Google Define, fitness means “in good health, esp. because of regular physical exercise”. So I’m not solely referring to ultra-marathoners or bikini models; just your average Joe/Jane who lives an active lifestyle and eats a balanced, healthy diet.

Fit = Dedicated

“Fit” is state of being that must be achieved and maintained. It takes work, it takes time and it takes dedication. A fit person is probably not lazy and will be dedicated to his or her other obligations in life as well. I think anyone can agree that being dedicated is a great quality in career life, relationships, etc. No one wants a flaky friend or a partner with commitment issues.

Sneaks

Fit = Health Conscious

I am very concerned with my own health because I feel best when I’m treating my body & mind to the best of my knowledge. I love this life and want to be around to enjoy for a very long time. My number one wish for everyone on this planet is that they too can discover how amazing their bodies are designed to feel. We aren’t doomed to experience the illnesses or rely on the drugs that our society has come to accept as a part of life.

I appreciate my friends and family making health & fitness a priority because it gives me peace of mind knowing they are doing something to help keep them in my life for many years to come! I tell my mom all the time, “Drink your greens! I need you around for a while yet.” 😉

photo 4

Fit = Strong

Physically: A balanced fitness routine improves functional strength. This allows you to easily carry out everyday activities like lifting heavy objects without straining yourself. Cardiovascular training keeps your heart strong and improves endurance which allows you to take the stairs without losing your breath, keep up with your kids or pets, and enjoy outdoor activities.

Mentally: It takes focus and willpower to lift one more rep or continue running to your goal even after you think you’re spent. It also takes some serious willpower to make a healthy choice when your surrounded by fast, cheap, & convenient options. Yoga is the ultimate way to develop mental strength. It’s not easy for everyone to shut out their busy life for an hour to just “be”. In yoga, we focus on our breath to hold and transition into poses. This practice can be applied to everyday life to help deal with stressful situations.

IMG_3815

Fit = Happy

I would say 99% of fit, healthy people are generally happy with themselves and their lives. Exercise is known to improve your mood and reduce stress levels. Fit people are confident in the way they look, have good energy levels, and probably have regular sleeping and eating habits. When you are happy with yourself you can be happy for others and from that stems a whole lot of good 🙂

IMG_0136

There is so much more to fitness than muscles or being a certain size or shape. There are qualities that any of us would be happy to possess or to have in a partner or friend. If you haven’t already, check out my post on 6 Ways To Make Exercise a Habit. Set your sustainable goals to make fitness about dedication, health, strength and happiness 🙂

I’d love to hear from you guys…

Why is fitness important to you?
What qualities attract you to a fit and healthy person?

Liz xo

16 thoughts on “There’s More to Fitness Than Muscles

  1. I think fitness helps you deal with challenges you face in your career, personal relationships and so much more. I honestly believe that being fit makes you a better person who is more able to cope with tough situations!

  2. I love this – especially the fit = happy. Running is definitely my sanity, but even if I couldn’t run, I would definitely still exercise however I could. It just makes every aspect of my life better!

    • I agree! I am the happiest when I am exercising regularly but I feel like crap when I get away from it. If walking was the only thing my body could do, I would do it everyday!

    • You have such a great story! I love that you are conquering your illness with food and treating your spirit with yoga. There truly is no better medicine 🙂

  3. I love this post! Fitness is such a great outlet, and I definitely feel like it has a positive impact on so many other areas of my life. Weekdays can start to feel monotonous between going to school and working, but making time to exercise breaks up the routine a bit and gives me something to look forward to.

    Some mornings I contemplate sleeping in instead of heading to the gym, but I just think of how great I am going to feel once I’m done working out and this (usually) gets me out of bed. Nothing beats that sense of accomplishment after a really hard work out! Except maybe a celebratory glass of wine…paired with dark chocolate 😉

    Brewbakers is #1 on my list of restaurants to try- my boyfriend raves about it!

    Natalie 🙂

    • My workout is totally my outlet after a long day at work and it was always the best part of my day during university. An hour to escape the stress of the day for a necessary, guilt-free reason! And I agree, the only better feeling than finishing a workout is finishing a workout then relaxing with some wine & chocolate on Friday night hehe

      Can’t wait for you to try Brewbaker’s. You must try Blue Door as well. So many delicious options 🙂

  4. Love this post! I really like how you break it down and are super encouraging for those who maybe don’t exercise regularly (not naming names but I may be typing this in pj pants). I think everyone does need to realize it isn’t about being a marathon runner or super model skinny— just being healthy and happy 🙂

    • Thanks girl 🙂 A lot of my readers are friends and family who are just trying to start a healthy lifestyle and I want to encourage them as well as appeal to the fitbloggin community. I’m no marathon runner myself, just that average, everyday exerciser, but I found my health & happiness through this and I want more people to realize its possible for them too 🙂

Leave a Reply

