Chocolate Chip Protein Cookies

Easter is happening so late this year that Ash Wednesday almost completely slipped my mind!

This is a big deal for me because every year since high school (maybe longer?) I’ve given up chocolate for lent. My ultimate weakness. My all-time favourite food. My beloved, sweet, go-to treat in any way shape or form.

IMG_2701

Because I didn’t realize lent started last week until Tuesday night (how did I miss the pancakes posted all over IG and Facebook on Tuesday? I dono… ) I didn’t have the chance to have one last chocolate binge! CRAP!

Good thing I ate 3 cupcakes last weekend…

IMG_2687 IMG_2690

So today I’m announcing my chocolate hiatus until April 20, Easter Sunday. Actually… it’s a break from sweets entirely. The first year I gave up chocolate I realized it was to easy to replace chocolate with other sweet treats. It was barely a sacrifice when I could still eat vanilla flavoured anything. Not that I eat a lot of sweets anymore but I still indulge in my fair share of vegan treats.

IMG_2693

In addition to giving something up, my mom always said that lent should be about doing something good, so we are working on that as well!

But right now, I’ve got something yummy for you! Yes, the title of this post includes the words chocolate and cookies but they are far from a sugary “sweet”. However, I guess I’ll be subbing raisins for chocolate chips when I make another batch this week 😉

IMG_2694

These little protein cookies were inspired by a 3-ingredient cookie recipe that’s been sweeping my Instagram feed. I love the original version but wanted a little more bulk for a mid-morning snack.

Sunwarrior’s raw protein blend has an amazing nutritional profile, especially designed for vegans. I don’t like to rely on protein powders and supplements as a main source of nutrition, because that’s just what they are, supplements. I do, however, like to use protein powder as an “extra” in my diet when I’m lacking my usual variety of whole foods because I’m traveling or low on groceries (oops!).

IMG_2712

Chocolate Chip Protein Cookies

Adapted from Skinny Taste’s Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Breakfast Cookies
Makes 12 cookies

  • 2 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1.5-2 scoops protein powder
  • 1 tbsp flaxseed
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/4 cup chocolate chips or other mix-ins (raisins, walnuts, etc.)

Combine all ingredients in a bowl then fold in chocolate chips. Bake on a greased or lined baking sheet at 350 F for 13-15 minutes. Let cool at least 5 min and enjoy!

IMG_2717

Nutrition facts per 2 cookies (using 1.5 scoops of Sunwarrior, natural):

Calories = 150
Protein = 6.9 g
Fat = 4.7 g
Carbs = 22.4 g
Sugar = 6.8 g
Fiber = 3.3 g
Iron = 16.7 g {just for fun;)}

What is your ultimate foodie weakness?
Do you use protein powder for a nutritional boost?

Liz xo

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Protein Cookies

Leave a Reply

